Soca Valley - Slovenia 2024 - CycleBlaze

Soca Valley

A beautiful day dawned. (What else is a beautiful day supposed to do in the morning?) Thanks to the helpful staff who led me to the basement boiler room the night before, all of my wet clothes were now crisply dry. I was excited to get out and into the sunshine.

I decided to retrace some of yesterday’s route since I hadn’t been able to properly appreciate the scenery.  I rode up alongside the river for a few miles and wasn’t disappointed. The Soca deserves all the hype, it’s a beautiful river in beautiful countryside. It’s an amazing colour: I’d seen pictures before I travelled and wondered how touched up they might have been. They weren’t, it really is turquoise and stunning. 

I saw a lot of rafters and kayakers and dirtbag vans. People come from all over Europe to paddle here.

After checking it all out I turned around and headed for Tolmin, my destination for the day. The mountains gradually got less sheer and more green. The freshly paved road stayed with the river and was mostly gentle down hill, drivers were nice, and all was well.

It was great day’s ride.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0