Rolling - Slovenia 2024 - CycleBlaze

Rolling

I rode from Trieste to Piran and finally entered Slovenia!  It was great to be finally underway on my bike. Getting out of Trieste was easy enough but requires full concentration as I got used to riding with loaded panniers amongst heavy traffic.  Drivers were nice but I was relieved to get into the countryside and join the bike path that would take me most of the way.

Heart 3 Comment 0

I went through very pretty countryside before following the coast.  Lots of people were enjoying their Sunday doing beach like stuff although there was no real beach.  Mostly a concrete promenade with a rocky shoreline and every so often a quaint town.

Heart 4 Comment 0

Before reaching any towns I was worried about my stomach and how it was going to get filled. The worry was unjustified when I found Izola bustling with lots of good looking places to eat.  I had grilled sardines and cooked spinach - very tasty and is setting my stomach to rumbling as I recollect the experience.

Getting to Piran was easy enough but getting out was anything but. I planned to stay at a campground less than a mile away but my navigation app, Komoot, was unable to guide me through the maze of alleys up the steep hillside where I needed to go.  After lots of frustration and foul language, I gave up and went a longer way around that included dragging myself up a huge hill.

I made it to the campground to find the office had closed 20 minutes before.  I was about to set up camp anyway when I realized that a key was needed to enter the showers and toilets.  The nearest other campsite was a big hill away and the owner apologized for the mess it was in because of contristion work.  It did not sound appealing and as I cogitated I saw a nice looking hotel at the waters edge and decided to stay there.  I’m dying to camp but needs must.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Interesting rocks. Almost as if they’ve been carved out. Reminded me a little of Giant’s Causeway, Ireland and Scarlett, Isle of Man.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Rose CowlesYes reminds me of the Burren in Ireland
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Heart 5 Comment 1
Paul Hernandezlivin the bikepacking dream
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Kelly IniguezI look forward to following along on your tour. This sounds like a good one.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
John RobsonThank you for the kind words everyone.

The red sticker on the downtube is an Isle of Man sticker based on the Manx flag. It’s known as the three legs of Mann - whichever way you throw me I shall stand. It’s where I’m from and I find the sticker is a useful connection point with other cyclists (because of Mark Cavendish) and a lot of Europeans, especially motorcyclists (TT Races). About 50% of people, on hearing “Isle of Man”, start to make motorcycle revving gestures with their right hand! I don’t think they realise they’re doing so half the time.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Rose CowlesTo John RobsonIs it warm enough to go for a swim in the sea?
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
John RobsonTo Rose CowlesThere were a few people swimming but they didn’t look too smart.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago