Bohinj - Slovenia 2024 - CycleBlaze

Bohinj

After leaving from my high altitude redoubt, I rode to Bohinjska Bistrica and finally got to camp again!

All the way there was through spectacular scenery. It was hard to make headway because I wanted to keep stopping to take pictures. As with all of my riding in Slovenia I was almost always on cycle ways or very quiet roads. I doubt if I rode as much as 10% of the time on trafficy roads.

The campground was in a very nice spot beside a river and whichever way I looked huge mountains made the sky look small.

I had the luxury of cooking my own food. I had some good meals along the way but I was craving something that was more normal for me. Before, during, and after dinner I had the luxury of watching the scenery as the light changed. The golden hour - the time before and after sunset - usually finds me indoors so to be outside in fine weather and surroundings was special.

After the previous day’s ride I thought it a good idea to replace my brake pads. At the end of the trip they were ready to be replaced again.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sadly, Slovenia has been ravaged by many wars over the years. Countless numbers died too young. I saw several memorials along the way but found this one particularly painful.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

In the early morning, July I, 1942 shots rang out here

Bled to death under the German balls

Our sons are twenty-nine

In an unknown grave now they are decaying

They still live among us in spirit 

Kar the latter then wrote with blood

No one will delete anything anymore

So become a traveler when you pass by

And remember

They fell for us and our homeland

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Views from the campground:

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Next day I rode to Bohinj lake. Bigger and wilder than Bled and more to my taste. No church on an island or castle on a cliff but way fewer people and more tranquil and more wild. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Heart 3 Comment 1
Scott AndersonLooks just like I remember it from 25 years ago.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Rose CowlesStunningly beautiful
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0