Back to Italy - Slovenia 2024 - CycleBlaze

Back to Italy

The last few miles of the previous day’s riding were on a quiet road through a lovely valley. I was to retrace these miles as I headed towards Italy.

I had been looking forward repeating these miles in the morning light and I was not disappointed. I also got to view the river from the bridge again. (I don’t know anything about this bridge but it is very photogenic - it’s called Napoleon’s Bridge and is on the edge of Kobarid.)

From Kobarid I travelled over more beautiful backroads, some of which were rough gravel tracks. As with all of Slovenia there were a lot of beehives. At one point I saw some men working with open hives a hundred yards ahead of me. There were a few bees buzzing around me, and expecting their numbers to increase, I thought it wise to get through all the buzz as quickly as I could. Panniers were shaking and there was a lot of banging around. There was a fork in the track but I didn’t dare stop to see which way to go. Better to go off course than be covered in bee stings. Obviously, I chose the wrong way but it worked out and it was easy to regain my planned route.

I eventually got to a main road that was to cross the border in a few miles. It followed a river and I looked for a place to stop for a picnic lunch. Before I knew it I reached the border and immediately before it was a friendly looking restaurant. It seemed a good idea to have some Slovakian food before I left the country.

I had a traditional dish of polenta topped with cheese and bacon along with a little hot milk to pour over it. I really enjoyed it but it left me to ponder whether people not from the southern states of the USA somehow find polenta more appealing than grits. They are the same thing.

After crossing the border I made my way across the flat but pretty landscape to Udine.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Seriously Komoot? You might be able to pick up where the (very rough) track picks up about 100 yards away. It doesn’t look it but that creek was hard to cross as well.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0