To Vittorio Veneto - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

July 9, 2024

To Vittorio Veneto

It was a long day in the saddle – it was neither the miles nor the terrain, it was the heat.

 The day got off to an excellent start with breakfast on the shaded terrace of my albergo where I enjoyed a repeat of last night’s dinner – grilled ham and cheese. I did a quick twirl around town and took off about nine under clear blue skies and warming temperatures. In short order I was back on the FVG3 cycle path and crossing the Torrente Cellina on the Ponte di Ravedis. The route continued on small farm lanes, passing fields of corn with the Carnian prealps rising in the distance. It was easily cycling, generally downhill with occasional stretches through the trees to prevent me from overheating. I took a short break at a small chapel in the woods and then continued to Aviano where I’d identified a bike store I needed to meet.

Breakfast on the shaded terrace of my hotel
Heart 4 Comment 0
A final twirl around Maniago
Heart 2 Comment 0
A look back at Maniago
Heart 5 Comment 0
Crossing Ponte di Ravedis at the dam along Torrente Cellina
Heart 3 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonWhat a beautiful spot!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
An unidentified town along the FVG Pedemontana - Malnisio, I think
Heart 3 Comment 0
Welcome shade
Heart 4 Comment 0
Passing cornfields along the farm lanes of the FVG Pedemontana..
Heart 3 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraDoes this remind you of home? (without the mountains, of course)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
..with views of the Carnian prealps..
Heart 5 Comment 0
...and the occasional farm vehicle
Heart 1 Comment 0
Chiesetta San Biagio di Giais
Heart 2 Comment 0

Water bottles and/or their caps head the list of the items I most often lose on tour – now that I’ve developed a better system to keep track of my wallet. I bought two replacement bottles in Metz last month and I’d already lost one of the caps somewhere in the Friuli. Hence the trip to a bike store. It was market day in Aviano and I wove through the stalls to Land Bike where I found a serviceable replacement bottle. They also had some really nice bike jerseys; sadly, all were professional fit and too tight for my taste.  Before leaving town, I spent a little time roaming through the market stalls before landing at a small café for a cold fanta and donut. And free water! When offered, I didn’t hesitate to christen my new water bottle.

Market day in Aviano
Heart 1 Comment 0
Early elevenes and free water in Aviano
Heart 4 Comment 0
Chiesa di Santa Caterina, Aviano
Heart 4 Comment 0
In Aviano - many of the older houses were constructed with stones from the nearby Torrente Artugna
Heart 3 Comment 0
A closer look at the stone construction
Heart 6 Comment 0
In Aviano
Heart 4 Comment 0

Shortly after leaving Aviano, I crossed the Torrente Artugna, not minding wading through the shallows waters that lapped across a low water bridge. Temperatures were in the mid-90s and I relished any cooling breeze, shade or even wet feet. I stopped often, sometimes at a bar/café to replenish my water supply, at other times just to rest in a shady spot along the road. I recalled my long, hot days on RAGBRAI and started dreaming of root beer floats and chocolate milk – I actually have Jeff Lee to thank for reminding me how restorative chocolate milk can be. 

Leaving Aviano on a shaded gravel road
Heart 3 Comment 0
Wet crossing of a small channel of the Torrente Artugna
Heart 5 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraThat must have been refreshing. Looks cold.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Dry crossing of the main channel of the Torrente Artugna.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another water refill in Fiaschetti
Heart 3 Comment 0
Patrice, on his way from Lyon to Istanbul
Heart 3 Comment 0
Chiesa di San Tommaso in Caneva
Heart 3 Comment 0
Vivien George with statue of a woman in repose. Two women in repose if you count me, though I'm out of the picture and fully clothed.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I had left the FVG3-Pedemonta cycle route in San Giovanni and traveled along local cycle routes and small roads until I reconnected with the Munich-Venice long-distance cycle route near Vittorio Veneto. It was a gently contoured terrain with little traffic and even less shade - by the time I rolled along the small canal leading into Vittorio Veneto I was ready to jump in the water. Instead, the track led me directly to a Lidl parking lot where I parked Vivien George and went in search of chocolate milk. There was no chocolate milk, only a chocolate “drink,” a label I studiously avoid when searching for dairy products. This time I gave in, not thinking straight in the extremely air conditioned interior of the Lidl. The non-dairy drink was somewhat refreshing but left the bad aftertaste of synthetic ingredients.

The terrain became more contoured as I headed north toward Vittorio Veneto
Heart 7 Comment 0
On the way to Vittorio Veneto
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looks inviting
Heart 4 Comment 0
On a horse friendly section of the Venice to Munich long distance cycle route
Heart 2 Comment 0
It's a chocolate drink, lots of protein but nary a trace of milk
Heart 1 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonIf I couldn’t find high protein yogurt, I’d probably buy one of these to have with my cereal.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

It was almost 3:30 when I finally checked into my hotel – hot, tired, and hungry. I still had the leftover half of my breakfast grilled ham and cheese, but it had no appeal. A web search identified a Pakistani restaurant that would open soon so I cleaned up and headed over with thoughts of biryani filling my head. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed. I resisted returning to the hotel for a two hour wait until restaurants opened and so settled for lots of hydration and a grilled veggie sandwich at an open café. And I topped it all off with gelato – it wasn’t chocolate milk, it was even better.

Replenishing lost fluids with chips and a Mosqhito - a non-alcoholic drink with ginger ale, kiwi, mint, cucumber, lime
Heart 8 Comment 0
Better than chocolate milk
Heart 7 Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraPistachio? My favorite.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rachael AndersonThat’s the best thing to have when you’re overheated.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 1,831 miles (2,947 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 0