To Spittal an der Drau - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2024

To Spittal an der Drau

Today’s ride was another trip down memory lane, cycling under a blue sky populated with white clouds. One of the things I most love about the Drau cycle route is the varied mix of roads and paths that wind through farmsteads and small hamlets along the river, allowing a passing glimpse of life along the Drau. With less than 30 miles to Spittal, I was determined to mosey along and savor the day – I went so slowly that I even stopped for a snail!  

My next stop after the snail was a trailside bike café of sorts – with racks and a bike station and drinks available for purchase. The place was jumping with pre-teens gleefully cavorting about in an adjacent playground, much to the consternation of the apparent group leader who was vainly trying to quiet them down. I suspected that the array of small mountain bikes strewn about the bike racks belonged to the youngsters, who were clearly enjoying their day. I snapped a few pics and moved on and was not too surprised when a short while later they all rode past me in a long line, the aforementioned leader bringing up the rear. I’ve seen many such groups over the past few weeks and years while touring in Europe, which to me suggests that appreciation of cycling is an activity cultivated at an early age.

The day begins with another crossing of the Drau River
Heart 4 Comment 0
I had no intention of rescuing the snail, I only wanted to snap a picture. But as I was getting my camera out, a mountain bike with two inch tires came down the path - I watched in near horror, hoping that my new friend would not be crunch meat. Thankfully, the snail escaped harm, this time, and I left him to slime away
Heart 5 Comment 0
A rack full of bikes waiting patiently for their riders
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Winding through Amlach
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Amlach
Heart 4 Comment 0
Along the Drau
Heart 1 Comment 0
The group of youngsters looks much better organized, paying attention and learning important cycling skills
Heart 4 Comment 0
The lowlands along the Drau were populated with cows as well as corn
Heart 2 Comment 0
I can only imagine learning to ride my bike in a setting like this
Heart 5 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonI love to see kids on bikes!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Continuing my slow roll down the Drau, I paused once again at stops I’d made on my 2021 tour, a tour that has had a fairly profound effect on my cycling life. It was then that I learned to not fear climbing, and in fact to relish the challenge. It was also the first time that I met Scott and Rachael as well as Suzanne, who have each enriched both my personal and cycling life. These were the first of many real life meet-ups with fellow the CBers, a gift that continues to grow. Lots to contemplate and appreciate while on the Drau cycle route!

 I’d left this morning without sufficient provisions so detoured into Lind im Drautal in search of food and drink. There was small grocery where the woman at the meat counter made me a ham and cheese sandwich to go. I found a bench to share outside the store and had lunch with Dietmar, an avid Austrian cyclist who likes to climb. He was returning home from a three month tour that began in Portugal and wound through the Pyrenees. We enjoyed a far-ranging conversation and then he was off on his loaded bike – 65 kg, including a slingshot. 

A rest stop redux at the Drau Paddelweg
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cycling through corn --- and mountains!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dietmar, sporting his new Pyrenees cycling jersey
Heart 3 Comment 0
Off he goes, fully loaded
Heart 5 Comment 0

I was nearing the end of memory lane, approaching the junction with the Alpe Adria cycle route that I would take south towards Udine. As I passed through Sachsenburg, I glanced at a small group of cyclists gathered under a tree. I screeched to a stop when I recognized the Tandemeers, Marianne and Marcus. They recounted their continuing mechanical woes – a broken chain this time – and I tried to cheer them up by donating one of my extra mirrors.

Soon after Sachsenburg, I crossed over the Drau and picked up the Alpe Adria, following a series of roads and cycle paths into Spittal an der Drau. I found my hotel, located just off the cycle route and later dined on Mexican food from the hotel restaurant. Tomorrow starts a "new-for-me" route down the Alpe Adria to Gemona, one that includes a section that promises to be thrilling. Fingers crossed for good weather.

In addition to cyclists, there is always a chance encounter with a tractor
Heart 3 Comment 0
More corn - if Iowa looked like this I would never have left
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
I couldn't believe it when I had another chance meeting with The Tandemeers in Sachsenburg.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A second mirror donated to a cycling tandem
Heart 4 Comment 0
On the Alpe Adria, nearing Spittal an der Drau
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 1,580 miles (2,543 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachael AndersonWhat a great day! It’s wonderful to be reminded of meeting you and Suzanne and Janos.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Susan CarpenterI sometimes think back on those first meetings, and it never fails to make me smile. I still can’t believe that I just happened to bump into you and Scott suiting outside a cafe having a pastry while I was on my way to meet you Salzburg!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago