To Sillian - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2024

To Sillian

It had been a wonderful morning hiking at Lago di Braies and I took an early elevenses break at a café in Ferrara with coffee and strudel. After retrieving my gear and Vivien George from the garage of my guesthouse, I changed into my biking kit and set off for the short ride to Sillian, a small town just across the Austrian border.

 The clouds had continued to lift, giving me hope that it might turn into a nice, bright day with the iconic peaks of the Dolomites blazed across a clear blue sky. I retraced my route north back through the Braies Valley to the Pustertal Cycle Route and soon arrived in Niederdorf/Villabassa, a town bustling with touring cyclists and day riders. I had a nice chat with a couple on their way to Venice who were taking their picnic lunch while charging their eBikes. Apparently there is a App for eBike tourers that identifies the location of free charging stations as well bike friendly lodging.

Ready to start the cycling portion of the day
Heart 3 Comment 0
Hoping for a clear day
Heart 2 Comment 0
In the Braies Valley
Heart 3 Comment 0
A bevy of bicyclists out for a day ride
Heart 3 Comment 0
My hopes for a sunny day were beginning to fade as I neared Niederdorf
Heart 3 Comment 0
Doris and Stewert, double-tasking on their way to Vienna
Heart 4 Comment 0

The route skirted a bit south of Tolbach/Dobbiaco and began following the Drau/Drava river from its source near Tolbach. I had spent two nights here in 2021, enjoying a day off the bike with memorable hike to Tre Cime. It was sunny then, a fact that I immensely appreciated today as I gazed at the shrouded peaks of the Dolomites lining valley towards Cortina d'Ampezzo. Indeed, my hopes for a sunny day were dashed as the clouds not only reappeared but it began to rain. It was raining sufficiently hard time by the time I reached San Candido/Innichen that I considered seeking shelter and lunch.  But I was still full from my strudel and so only stopped to put on my rain booties.

Shrouded peaks of the Dolomites along valley towards Cortina d'Ampezzo
Heart 5 Comment 3
Patrick O'HaraSorry the clouds are blocking your views! Stunning area there!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Patrick O'HaraIt's a bit of a disappointment Patrick but I'm very much enjoying the cycling. I was through here a few years ago during a sunny stretch in early October when the beauty of the area was on full display. It may be more disappointing this time in knowing what I'm missing!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
eBike rentals near the Tolbach/Dobbiaco train station. The advent of eBikes seems to have greatly increased the popularity of day cycling in this area
Heart 1 Comment 0
The bicycle seems a bit out of place, no?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Continuing east along the Drau River, a reverse of my 2021 route
Heart 3 Comment 0
Seeking a brief respite from the rain in San Candido/Innichen
Heart 4 Comment 0

The rain eventually subsided and had stopped by the time I crossed the border into Austria. I’d been in Austria less than two minutes when I saw a small herd of cattle grazing on a steep hillside. Except for a few horses, they might have been the first livestock I’d seen since leaving Verona – since Bolzano for sure. Of course I stopped for pictures and with elevated spirits I was soon in Sillian, arriving at my guest house on the far end of town just minutes before the 2 pm check-in time.

 To my chagrin, the guesthouse only served dinner. A bit famished, I walked over to the nearby grocery store for lunch supplies and to stock up on provisions. I spent the afternoon squirreled away in my room until dinner time – they were out of spinach dumplings so I had a tasty salad with grilled chicken. Similar to today’s weather, I didn’t get my first choice but the second option was very satisfying. Well, maybe not the rainy bits.

A look back at San Candido/Innichen
Heart 3 Comment 0
Along the Drau River cycle route
Heart 4 Comment 0
Clearing skies
Heart 5 Comment 0
Crossing the border
Heart 5 Comment 0
It's been a long time since I've had a cow pic
Heart 5 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonJust the opposite for me. I took a great walk yesterday evening and saw a parade of cows just on the other side of the canal I was walking on.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Susan CarpenterI’m definitely jealous of all the cows and sheep you’re meeting!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Sillian
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 18 miles (29 km)
Total: 1,509 miles (2,429 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonI hope the weather improves for you!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago