To Nago-Torbole - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2024

To Nago-Torbole

The albergo may have scored points for their geniality last night but this morning's very meager breakfast had the opposite effect.  A croissant, two dinner rolls and coffee. There was butter but no jam, so in CB parlance it would have to be a 0 jammer breakfast. A trip to the local market was obviously in order before leaving town. I stocked up with bread and cheese and was back on the Adige cycle path at just past ten.

The cycle path followed a small canal for the first four miles before dropping down to the Adige River at Mama di Sotto. About a mile later I came across BiciGrill RuotaLibera where I was drawn in by the colorful signpost and piles of bicycles filling the racks. I’d not gone far, but it was a short day with plenty of time for diversions. I lingered over my coffee as scores of cyclists passed by, many stopping for a moment and some for a more serious break. I was especially amused by macho men on their mountain eBikes. My only regret turned out to be not eating my chocolate chip cookie immediately but stowing it for a lunchtime treat –  the chocolate chips melted in the heat and left a sticky mess in my handlebar bag

Looking down the Adige River as it passes through Rivalta
Heart 4 Comment 0
Roiling waters of the Adige as it emerges from under the bridge
Heart 5 Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraThe Adige is really moving.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Patrick O'HaraHigh and fast. More rain the last two nights and some trail diversions
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Today I'm headed up river
Heart 2 Comment 0
As the day started, I was cycling into a bit of a headwind - more of a cooling breeze than an unwelcome impediment.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Terraced vineyards and a small village across the Adige
Heart 4 Comment 0
Not a care in the world
Heart 4 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraLovely. Bringing back memories.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
BiciGrill RuotaLibera - a great stop for coffee and watching the world roll by
Heart 3 Comment 0
At BiciGrill RuotaLibera
Heart 5 Comment 0

The route along the Adige River was stellar, a smooth ride through this section of the Adige River sometimes referred to as the Lagarina Valley. Though I was often cycling between the river and the highway, there were enough sections that diverted through vineyards to keep things interesting. Not to mention the alpine peaks, stunning even on this hazy day. Around Sabbionara, the highway crossed over to the other side of the Adige River and things became more serene, just me and the grapes. I admit to being a little obsessed with the vineyards along the route, especially with the method of trellising and training the vines.

The excellent cycle path just kept going and going
Heart 3 Comment 0
Passing through the edge of Pilcante,
Heart 4 Comment 0
A look back at Pilcante
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lunch break in the trellised vineyards
Heart 4 Comment 0
Trellis set-up for training the young vines
Heart 1 Comment 0
Small clusters of grapes were just beginning to form, with individual grapes the size of a baby's pinkie
Heart 3 Comment 0
I round a bend and there was this!
Heart 5 Comment 0

Almost twenty miles into the ride I left the Adige cycle route and turned west toward Lake Garda. In planning this tour I’d had mixed feelings about ncluding a detour to Riva del Garda but in the end found that I couldn’t pass up a chance to see such a spectacular place. The wonderful biking infrastructure continued as I made my way through yet more vineyards, interspersed here and there with some hay fields. There was a steady stream of cyclists as well as trailside cafés that catered to the cycling crowd. I passed them by, instead seeking shade at a shrine to Ave Maria. It wasn’t that I felt the need for prayer, she just happened along at an opportune moment.

As the route passed Lago di Lippio, there were multiple signs warning to walk our bikes – the reason was a short steep climb that wound through a tunnel. I obeyed, but most folks stayed in the saddle. Perhaps the Ave Marie had aroused the good Catholic girl in me? I was soon back on the bike and speeding down toward Nago-Torbole where I, and almost every passing cyclist, stopped to take in the magnificent view. Even on this hazy day, it was a view most definitely worth the detour.

It's 1:15, do you know where your helmet is?
Heart 5 Comment 0
Taking a break under watchful eyes
Heart 3 Comment 0
The great cycling infrastructure continued nearly all the way to Lake Garda
Heart 3 Comment 0
Vines on the left, hay on the right, cyclists down the middle
Heart 3 Comment 0
The stunning view of Lake Garda and the village of Torbole
Heart 6 Comment 0

CycleBlaze is full of great routes and tales of cycling adventures that provide a wealth of information for those planning a cycle tour. Today, I took a page from the Classen’s Poking Around Europe 4.0 journal describing their two nights at the Garda Hotel Forte Charme in Nago-Torbole. It seemed so brilliant - stay at a nice hotel above the lake and explore Riva del Garda and the nearby towns on a day ride, unburdened by panniers. And copy-cat that I am, I checked into the hotel and enjoyed views of the lake from the panorama decks. For dinner, I walked across the street for a salad and burger, taking one last photo as the sun began to set. A brilliant idea, a brilliant day.

Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 1,331 miles (2,142 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonWhat a great day!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago