To Bressanone - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2024

To Bressanone

There was another overnight rainstorm but unlike yesterday there was no sunshine and blue skies to greet me this morning. Instead, I woke to a city cloaked in low hanging clouds with predictions for a cloudy day and a chance of rain. Even more reason to appreciate yesterday’s clear skies and sunshine.

 From Bolzano, the Adige Cycle Path follows the river through the Vinschgau Valley to its source near Reschen Pass. It is a beautiful stretch through apple orchards that I rode in 2021, a trip I fondly remember. Today, however, I left the Adige and headed up the narrow Eisack/Isarco Valley to Bressanone on a dedicated cycle route, known variously as the Isarco Valle Cycle path and the Bressanone-Bolzano Cycle Path. The clouds began to lift as I got underway, and I was hopeful that I would stay dry and maybe even get a ray of sunshine before the days end.

Leaving Bolzano under cloudy skies
Heart 4 Comment 0
Lifting clouds and perhaps a small patch of blue
Heart 3 Comment 0
The steep terraced hillsides as I enter the Eisack/Isarco Valley
Heart 3 Comment 0
I believe this is the confluence of the Adige and Eisack/Isarco rivers
Heart 3 Comment 0

There were three main themes of today’s ride: Art, Tunnels, and Water. We’ll start with Art. 

A 6 km section of the cycle path between Bolzano and Cardano displays various works of art, including sculptures and murals, and is known as the Augenreise (Eye Trip) cycle path. The public arts project was launched in 2007 with the slogan "Art knows no limitations" and a goal "..to draw attention to the work and art of people with handicaps and to raise public awareness of the cultural achievements of these people.” 

I share below just a few examples of the art along the trail - not all of which may be part of the ""Art knows no limitations" project.

Heart 5 Comment 3
Rachael AndersonWhat a great photo!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Rachael AndersonThanks Rachael
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 1
Scott AndersonHe’s seen some weather since we saw him six years ago: https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/dubrovnik2018/to-bolzano/#14696_ek9y3ehryrxjbmfc5k0vdc82rum
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
I'm pretty sure this is not part of the project, but it makes a nice seque to the second theme of the day: Tunnels
Heart 5 Comment 0

We’ll next talk about tunnels.

 Traveling through the Eisack/Isarco Valley are three transportation lines – a high speed motorway, a two-lane state road, and a railroad -each of which utilize a series of tunnels, bridges, and overpasses as they traverse through the river valley. The railroad line is part of the Brenner Base Tunnel, a project to build a 34 mile railway tunnel under Brenner Pass that is expected to be fully open in 2032. Completed sections of the tunnel include the Cardano Tunnel along the Eisack River, and the now abandoned above-ground railway has been repurposed as the cycle path.

 My Tunnel theme picked up steam shortly after Cardano, just as the Art project was winding down. There were long tunnels with lights, short dark tunnels, and one-sided tunnels -if they can be considered a tunnel. The long ones played havoc with my GPS tracking, especially when I stopped to take a picture, some of which I share below.

Three modern transportation modes, each with their own tunnel
Heart 4 Comment 0
Sometimes you go over and not through the mountain
Heart 2 Comment 0
A long, lit tunnel
Heart 4 Comment 1
Scott AndersonThis is holding up better though: https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/dubrovnik2018/to-bolzano/#14696_310nkko6ouclwsuvojj868uwjmb
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
A shorter tunnel with sides
Heart 6 Comment 2
Scott AndersonThat’s great. This one belongs in the art section.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Susan CarpenterThanks Scott - I must have been inspired by all the sculptures and murals I’d passed
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
This tunnel reminded me of my trip over Reschen Pass, when I inadvertently found myself in a high-speed 7 km long tunnel. I was rescued by the highway crew and given a stern lecture by state police. https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/munichbolognaloop/to-lermoos/
Heart 3 Comment 0
Luckily, it was very easy to spot the bike route and avoid the tunnel
Heart 4 Comment 0

The final theme of the day was Water. The narrow confines of the valley immersed me in the sights and sounds of a river swollen by rains. Water poured from feeder streams and cascading waterfalls and churned downstream with a deafening roar. It was my constant companion for twenty miles, close at hand and vocal, but not easily photographed.  

After twenty miles, I reached the medieval city of Klausen, a lively town that merited more time than I was willing to share.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
In Klausen, where the bike route goes right down the middle of town
Heart 7 Comment 0
A flower bike
Heart 4 Comment 0
A golden bike
Heart 4 Comment 0
In Klausen
Heart 3 Comment 0
Sabbiona Monastery overlooking Klausen
Heart 2 Comment 0

The valley broadened beyond Klausen, offering views of terraced hillsides and grazing goats. I continued on into Bressanone and after a wee bit of struggle found the key to my room - I was staying in a seminary and the room was even smaller than last night! I finished off my Indian leftovers, did after ride clean ups, and laid down for a nap. I did manage to get out for a very quick look around the Bressanone, a city with distinctive style and rich history. It had been a wondrous day filled with sights and sounds that entertained and enchanted.

Leaving Klausen
Heart 2 Comment 0
On the way to Bressanone
Heart 5 Comment 0
Grazing goats on a step hillside
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Kard. Nikolaus Cusanus Akademie
Heart 2 Comment 0
In Bressanone
Heart 2 Comment 0
Streets of Bressanone
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Bressanone
Heart 3 Comment 0
Bressanone Cathedral
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 1,451 miles (2,335 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachael AndersonWhat a fabulous day! I really want to go back to this area but not in the summer.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Susan CarpenterI’m loving this area - and there are a ton of hiking trails.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago