Lago di Braies - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2024

Lago di Braies

Lago di Braies is an Alpine lake with turquoise green waters surrounded by peaks of the Croda del Becco massif. Coined the “Pearl of the Dolomites”, visitors can appreciate the splendor of the lake while hiking the loop trail or braving more rigorous trails that lead up from the lake. In addition, small rowboats are available for hourly rentals. Although it has become enormously popular in recent years, I desired to see this gem with my own eyes.

 When I checked in last night I was asked what time I wanted breakfast, anywhere from 7-9:30 was okay but I had to pick a time. A response required that I decide on the spot my plans for visiting the lake – an early morning cycle followed by breakfast, or breakfast first. Two factors that weighed on the decision were 1) avoiding crowds as much as possible and 2) my wish to hike around the lake. An early arrival at the lake was best to avoid crowds, so I first thought to cycle up to the lake before breakfast. However I was concerned about leaving Vivien George tethered with only my flimsy cable lock while I hiked the 2.3 mile loop trail.

 That’s when I learned about the bus – running almost every half hour, it would pick me up in the center of town and bring me back. I booked the 7:30 breakfast and managed to catch to 8:19 bus, running after it as some kind dog walker asked the bus driver to wait. The bus was packed with folks with knapsacks and hiking poles – yikes!! We all disgorged and while I got my bearings a group of eager beavers raced to get in line at the boat rental shed, which was just opening up.

 It was an overcast day, with low hanging clouds and threats of rain. Even in these conditions, the setting was a marvel. I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves – there’s quite a few – and I’ll provide limited commentary/captions.

 I started on the loop trail, making my way down to the south end of the lake and heading up the west side where the trail access was blocked.  

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 8 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

It began to drizzle as I made my way back to the boat shed and the turbulence on the lake surface obliterated the reflections. Umbrellas came out, both on the trail and in the rowboats, and I donned my rain jacket. The rains were short lived, however, and the clouds began to lift as I started up the east side of the lake.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Chapel Lago di Braies
Heart 3 Comment 0
Yeah! It's clearing up
Heart 9 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

On reaching the north end of the lake I realized that the trail continued down along the west side, though it was unclear how far it went. I decided to head back, after all I had some cycling yet to do to reach my next overnight. The crowds intensified as I made my way back to the boat house, and I was grateful to the dog walker who made it possible for me to get just a little jump on the throngs.  

I've seen this many times in Paris - it just shows how popular the lake has become
Heart 3 Comment 1
Rich FrasierWe saw a TON of this in Grindlewald, Switzerland last fall. Interestingly, all of the couples were Asian. My guess was Korean but I’m not a good enough linguist to be sure. Not sure why…
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0

Lago di Braies is popular for a reason. In many ways it is heartening to see so many people of all ages and differing physical abilities able to enjoy such a natural wonder. Despite the crowds, I believe it is well worth visiting, even on an overcast day.  But best to go early in the morning, or perhaps later in the day.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Angela NaefWhat a beautiful spot, Stunning photos!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonBeautiful. Reminds me very much of nearby Misurina.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kathleen JonesGreat photos, great place. Glad you got there to enjoy it.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rachael AndersonWhat a great day!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Lucy MartinYou and David must have almost crossed paths. He has very similar photos.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterTo Lucy MartinWow - when was he over here? Still thinking of Provence/Southern France next year?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago