Épernon Loop Ride - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2024

Épernon Loop Ride

It finally stopped raining in Paris! I celebrated the sun with a visit to Luxembourg Gardens and spent a day at Roland-Garros rooting in vain for Coco Gauff in her semi-final match against eventual champion Iga Swiatek. 

The Grand Bassin at Luxembourg Gardens - one of my favorite spots on a sunny day in Paris
Heart 4 Comment 2
Keith KleinHi,
Great minds think alike. The basin is also one of my favorite spots. Sometimes there are model boats to watch, too.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Susan CarpenterTo Keith KleinHi Keith - nice to hear from you. And yes, watching the children with their model boats is one of the things I most enjoy at the basin
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
My seat at Roland-Garros was in the upper reaches of Court Philippe Chatrier, but as my sister said "You're there and in the shade"
Heart 3 Comment 0
Coco's first serve was a glimpse of what was to come - she lost the point, the game, the set, and the match
Heart 0 Comment 0
Iga serving - her ground strokes were just too powerful and accurate, overwhelming Coco yet again
Heart 1 Comment 1
Patrick O'HaraShe's incredible on the clay!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

I had tried to secure a ticket for the Men’s Semi-Final match between Alcaraz and Sinner but was repeatedly beat out by those quicker to click on the official ticket resale site. So I decided on the next best thing: a long bike ride. Many of you will counter that the bike ride is the better of the two options, but I admit to being a sports fan and chances to watch championship tennis in person are pretty rare.

Though a day of cycling in Paris has a certain appeal, I was looking to spend the day exploring quiet roads and small villages on the outer reaches of Paris and so decided to start my journey in the town of Épernon. The town is located in the Centre-Val de Loire region just 41 minutes from Gare Montparnasse on the regional train. I’d used Épernon as a starting point in the past for day rides to Chartres, one of which was the launching point for a short trip to the Parc Regional de Perche in 2022.  Today I’d mapped a route in the opposite direction, a northeast loop through the Parc Naturel Régional de la Haute Vallée de Chevreuse.

 As in the past, I caught the 11:06 train from Gare Montparnasse and before noon was following the La Guesle River north toward Les Chaises. It didn't take me long to realize that I'd left my camera in Paris (oh no!!) and would have to rely on my iPhone for pictures, a model not possessed of the latest camera wizardry. Undaunted, I carried on, passing through many well-appointed neighborhoods and small hamlets populated with ivy-covered stone buildings. It all had the air of affluence - perhaps benefiting from their proximity to Paris. Another sign of affluence was the presence of well-cared for horses and an abundance of riding stables. In some ways the area reminded me of my 2021 ride up through New York's Hudson River Valley.

Vivien George is smashed in there somewhere. As is usually the case, fellow cyclists assisted in untangling the web when it was my turn to disembark.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Leaving Épernon - where stone buildings and walls predominated on the way to Les Chaises
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Mairie in the small commune of Raizeux
Heart 2 Comment 0
Mairie-École in Poigny-la-Forêt - likely a polling spot as indicated by placards showing the large number of candidates for European Parliament
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was a bit frightened at this apparition until realizing there was a horse underneath all that bug protection
Heart 2 Comment 0
A tidy sod-covered house with a white picket fence
Heart 4 Comment 1
Keith KleinLove those thatched roofs. The plants are often iris or day lilies. Makes the house look festive when they bloom!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

I took a croissant break at a bus stop outside Les Chaises and proceeded northeast through the Forêt Domaniale de Rambouillet to Les Bréviaires. It was a delightful stretch on small roads flanked by ferns and hardwoods. The forest is crisscrossed by a number of small D and C roads as well as unnumbered lanes that make for great cycling, as evidenced by the many road cyclists out enjoying the day.  I took a lunch break in Les Bréviaires and after indulging in a Schweppes and half my sandwich I turned west, beginning the loop back toward Épernon. Along the way I deviated from my planned route, opting for a larger road that shaved a few miles off the final tally. Traffic was generally light with a very modest amount of truck traffic, but as is the norm everyone was quite respectful and gave me a wide berth.

Heading south from Saint-Léger-en-Yvelines, I was back on smaller roads and faced the only noted climb of day, a modest one miler with a nice downhill that led me out of the forest. The remaining miles wound through poppy-lined fields and acres of newly mown hay. It was a glorious sunny day, warm enough that I could layer down to my cycling jersey – a first since I’d left Spain over a month ago.

Cycling through the Forêt Domaniale de Rambouillet
Heart 5 Comment 0
A large equestrian riding and boarding stable
Heart 2 Comment 0
Mairie-École in Les Bréviaires
Heart 4 Comment 0
Schweppes Argumes - next best thing to Fanta Orange
Heart 3 Comment 1
Karen PoretI secured a pair of Fanta Orange socks for our cook on the barge.. Like you, Susan, he loves this beverage.!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
The stone buildings of Saint-Léger-en-Yvelines (I think)
Heart 2 Comment 0

Heading south from Saint-Léger-en-Yvelines, I was back on smaller roads and faced the only noted climb of day, a modest one miler with a nice downhill that led me out of the forest. The remaining miles wound through poppy-lined fields and acres of newly mown hay. It was a glorious sunny day, warm enough that I could layer down to my cycling jersey – a first since I’d left Spain over a month ago.

About the face the days only climb, a modest rise over the ridge ahead
Heart 2 Comment 0
Two friends I met along the way
Heart 2 Comment 0
Yes, there is an eye under all that forelock
Heart 2 Comment 0
A variety of dairy cows graze on field outside the town of La Boissière-École
Heart 2 Comment 0
Poppies
Heart 4 Comment 0
A lame attempt at a mirror selfie, but it does show that it was warm enough to ride with only my cycling jersey
Heart 3 Comment 0
The greens of spring beget summer shades of yellows and brown
Heart 2 Comment 0

I’d checked that train schedule for my return to Paris, but did not really pay much attention as they run every 30 to 60 minutes. As it happened, I arrived at the Épernon station just minutes after the 4:04 train departed. The next train was at 5:04, which came with the minor consolation of it being a non-stop 33 minute trip to Gare Montparnasse. I bought my ticket and though there was plenty of time to explore a bit of Épernon I chose instead to wait on the platform and catch up on news of the day. 

I was back home by six, in time to catch the end of the Alcarez-Sinner match on my computer. Alcaraez won in 5 dramatic sets – it would have been great to see it in person, but my Plan B day turned out to be a delightful alternative.

The 4:04 train to Paris had just departed when I arrived at the Épernon station
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 1,259 miles (2,026 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0