Sore Bum, Tired Legs - The Sisterhood of the Traveling Jersey - CycleBlaze

June 15, 2024

Sore Bum, Tired Legs

Glacier NP to Columbia Fall; dodging rain but not wind, good thing the day was short and easy

Heart 0 Comment 0
Not as comfy as the saddle it replaced
Heart 0 Comment 0


During the month of May, I did a month of movement challenge as part of a fundraiser for the Napa Vine Trail. During this month I recorded 810 riding miles and 130 walking miles and in the process, finally wore out my old Selle Anatomica saddle to the point that the leather was starting to tear. So I replaced it with their Version 2 saddle that allows for replacement of the leather. Once it was on the bike, I had time for only one short ride to “dial” it in. Well, now that I am doing day after day riding, I am wishing for my old comfy saddle back. I think this one will eventually be OK but it has a slightly different fit than the old saddle and my bum is feeling it.  Rookie mistake, I should have rotated a saddle from one of my other bikes.

Today was planned as a short, easy day, coming after GTTSR. Jim drove and took a rest day while Amber, Rich and I rode. We essentially backtracked our route from two days ago back to Columbia Falls, losing about 1100 feet of elevation while climbing about 800. Every time the road turned upward, we all felt it and groaned and complained a bit. Tired legs; further proof to me that lots of miles are no substitute for climbing during training. We have really only one other big climbing day on this tour so hopefully our legs will perform better on that.

The stretch of summer-like weather is apparently done.  A cold and wet front has arrived with wind warnings and winter weather watches in the mountains. 20 inches of snow is forecasted for Logan Pass so likely GTTSR will be closed again for a while. We really were fortunate to climb it when we did.

We arrived in Columbia Falls about an hour before it started to rain. The last 8 miles were quite windy-a headwind, of course. But by the time it was raining, we were ensconced in a warm cafe eating lunch. During a break in the rain, we rode to our hotel and checked in. As I write this, it is hailing and raining with strong, gusty winds. The weather forecasts change almost hourly so we just take it as it comes. 

Ready to roll
Heart 3 Comment 0
Typical scenery today
Heart 1 Comment 0
Re-crossing the Middle Fork of the Flathead River
Heart 1 Comment 0
That’s me
Heart 2 Comment 1
Ellen WalkerLooking good sis!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rich on the road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Robotic server in our lunch cafe - our waitress confided to us that she “kind of hated it.”
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hail on the hotel roof
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 114 miles (183 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0