Day 9: A gruelling one! - Shifting gears on the Great Divide Mountain Bike Route. - CycleBlaze

August 27, 2024

Day 9: A gruelling one!

We started our day at the Llama Ranch with pancakes, peanut butter and syrup and got on our bikes at 7 AM just when others were starting to emerge from their cabins. We think there were 6 hikers and 6 riders in total. The hikers were doing the Continental Divide hiking trail and they rolled into at about 7 pm the night before after hiking 24 miles. That’s a huge day and they said they had been hiking for 101 days!

Last image of the Llama mirage.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The morning riding started out picturesque through another valley bathed in sunlight. We saw a moose and many deer out enjoying early morning grazing. Our goal for the morning was to get to Helena which was 60 km and 1000 m of climbing. We got close and stopped for an early lunch at 11:15 to dry the clothes we washed at the ranch. The rest of the ride into Helena was pretty until we hit the 9 km highway section with strong winds. 

Sun drenched valley. Spectacular!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Helena itself was nondescript. We stopped for groceries, bottle fill-up and electrolytes from a bike shop. We’ve both been pounding electrolytes with almost every water bottle. It was really hot I. Helena and we were starting to feel the impact of the heat when we rolled out about 2:15.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Drying the laundry by the side of the road.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This sign to remind us how far we have left!
Heart 2 Comment 0

We knew the afternoon was going to be a test and it delivered. We had to climb another 1000 m over just 40 km. It was very difficult and we needed to take frequent breaks to replenish our energy as there was a hill around every corner. We finally made the campground at 6:30. Overall, it was a tough day physically. 

We enjoyed a nice big meal of chili and mashed potatoes. Peter headed over to the lake to wash the dishes and people were swimming. I was absolutely exhausted so got the tent set up and turned in a 8:15 with no idea of what was to come. Neither of us pegged our tents because it was dead quiet and still warm. I decided to proactively put on long underwear and a wool shirt. 

Somewhere around 9:30 the winds started to pick up and they continued to get stronger. The tent was pushing back and forth with such force that sleep was impossible. By midnight I still had not slept more than 30 minutes and the winds were so strong I thought my tent was going to be shredded. I was the only thing keeping it from flying off. I thought about my options and knew the porta potty was only 30 feet away but I had no idea how to get the tent down safely. 

I set to cleaning everything up in the tent and started to take the poles off the top from inside. Then it was a matter of waiting for the wind to quiet enough to rush out and pull the poles out. Success! I quickly made a bundle of everything and ran for the porta potty. It was locked so I figured someone else had the same idea. 

Completely frustrated I went back to our site and Peter started talking to me through his tent. He was positioned the other way and I thought he was sleeping through this disaster. We chatted and he decided to stay put so I put my tent in a bag. It was so so windy I decided bear spray was useless so I grabbed my horn and surrendered myself to fate. 

I walked about 150 m to the next outhouse and set up inside. Yes, this was a low point! But, you do what’s necessary. Peter commented later that we slept in the on suite. 

I got about 4 hours of disrupted sleep when Peter knocked on the door. He wanted to make sure I was okay. 

Highlights:

-Early morning light and beautiful start of the day leaving the ranch

-Seeing the moose and keeping our distance

-Record elevation gain for me; it was a grind!

96 km/ 2089 m elevation gain

Today's ride: 96 km (60 miles)
Total: 1,027 km (638 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Jamie FauldsNeed a picture of the sleeping quarters. That sounds like a wild night.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago