Thank you to the Adams Family. - Two friends and the Katy Trail. - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2024

Thank you to the Adams Family.

Thirty years ago, I met Keith Adams. At that time, having lived in the country for approximately two years, I was just coming to the realization that I needed to embrace the culture and customs of this beautiful country. There couldn’t have been a better person than Keith who would truly show me, my siblings, and friends how welcoming and understanding Americans could be. I understand that things may not always seem that way nowadays, but I remain hopeful that people like Keith still exist and will continue their kindness and compassion.

Hanging with the Adams
Heart 1 Comment 0
Thank you Alan and Elaine, no one is perfect we will let the Chife thing slide
Heart 1 Comment 0

The past week reminded me of what truly defines the heart of this nation. As we traveled along the Katy Trail, we encountered fewer riders than I expected, but I still felt the friendliness and warmth of the people who are still around. One of those welcoming individuals was a young lady in a park. I approached her to ask about water because we had run out, and the campsite didn’t have any. She kindly informed me that there was a water dispenser at the town’s water tower—something that Keith and I had a lot of fun with. Having arrived during my late teen years and resisting learning the language, my accent stands out, and not everyone welcomes me solely because of it.

Susan, Gwen, Alan, and Elaine warmly welcomed us into their home, not only by hosting us but also by entertaining even when we had to cut our trip short. I genuinely appreciate and am thankful that such kind-hearted people continue to exist and exemplify what America has always stood for: warmth, welcoming, understanding, and kindness. I still carry so much of my culture within me, but I am also blessed to now be part of the American culture that, through the years, I have learned to embrace and experience and be able to share it with others

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0