Ready as I'll be. - Two friends and the Katy Trail. - CycleBlaze

Ready as I'll be.

As ready as I will be, sums up the amount of preparation I have done for this ride. It has probably been two years since I last did a long bike tour. The last one was the GAP, and may I say I did enjoy the ride with six other friends.

The calm before the 350 miles storm
Heart 1 Comment 0

This time around, it will only be two of us. Keith is ready with 500 miles under his belt, and I think he is more than prepared. As for me, well, let’s just say that if I have 100 miles on me, it would be generous. I have been doing short-distance riding, including the 35 miles Keith and I did this past weekend. The ride was nice and scenic, and I’m hoping for lots of that to come on the Katy Trail.

Keith Adams making it look easy.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Scott AndersonIt’s that Rodriguez he’s riding. Everyone looks great on a Rodriguez.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AndersonHee hee hee. In this case I'm on my Trek Madone 5.5... Serenity got the day off, to get rested up.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

As for the preparation for what I’m taking, let’s just say that between taking college classes, volunteering as a soccer coach, and working, I’m as ready as I think I’ll be. It’s about four days away from the start of the trip, and I’m not yet fully packed and still thinking about what I’ll take to eat. I’m usually a very laid-back type of guy, but I think I might be pushing it. Well, it would not be me if I were to be fully ready; it’s just not me, and winging it is how I roll.

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 35 miles (56 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Bob DistelbergLooking forward to following along and seeing the ride from both your and Keith's perspective.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Keith AdamsLooking forward to reading your story!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Noe Hernandez FloresTo Keith AdamsI'll try my best. Not as detailed and as eloquent as your writing, but I will give it a go.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago