Day three, why I ride. - Two friends and the Katy Trail. - CycleBlaze

May 21, 2024

Day three, why I ride.

There are many reasons why I enjoy riding a bicycle.

For the love of it, ever since I set my eyes on a bicycle as a farm boy, dreaming of owning and riding one to experience the tires rolling on a dusty and gravelly road, it was something I just had to do. It would be years before that dream would come to fruition, but that love was still there and still is.

Enjoying the ride
Heart 2 Comment 0

For the adventure, riding to different places that might not be easily accessible by vehicle or on foot is one of my favorite hobbies. Of course, the many unexpected mishaps that occur make any ride a fun experience.

For the memories, given the many experiences I’ve had riding my bicycle, it’s great to reminisce about past adventures and continue to enjoy the current ones.

When in Midwest
Heart 3 Comment 0

For these reasons, we have decided that this adventure must come to an end. The long, monotonous stretch of seeing the same straight path repeatedly is no longer enjoyable. After discussing it with Keith and considering our plans to continue, we have concluded that we have enjoyed plenty of the Katy. There is no need to continue, as we both feel very pleased with the experiences we’ve had.

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 155 miles (249 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Keith AdamsThanks for including me on your adventure my friend!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Noe Hernandez FloresTo Keith AdamsThanks for coming along the adventure
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Nancy GrahamI hear you loud and clear. For me, a tour on any “trail” can be so monotonous. I often think I will like it until I get started and realize I will see the same things for the entire ride. For me, your decision was the right one!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Noe Hernandez FloresTo Nancy GrahamThanks, it will be something to keep in mind in future long trail rides.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago