A day to forget - Two friends and the Katy Trail. - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2024

A day to forget

And we are on our way. After a long-awaited trip, we took off from the Ravens’ cryptonite, the Kansas City Chiefs. I had to take a picture with the Ravens hat, hoping it will put a curse on them, and we finally beat them where it matters. 

Curse you Chife
Heart 2 Comment 0

After leaving such a disdainful place, we were on our way. We took a picture out of sight of the stadium so as not to keep reminding me of all the losses we had at their hands.

Start picture
Heart 2 Comment 0

Now for what I really came to Missouri for, some of views and the critters you find in the trail is really what makes any bike trip worth it. After an encounter with a shy turtle we when through some nice places.

Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltBox turtle. They have hinges across the bottom so they can close completely.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_American_box_turtle
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Noe Hernandez FloresThanks for the insightful note. I usually move them to safety when ever I can.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

It wasn't long before before we run through our first tunnel where a picture is a must.

Heart 1 Comment 0

Sadly, things went downhill after a good lunch because apparently, a Philly Steak sandwich was too much for me. After that, I had a slow rest of the day I would rather not repeat. Once I dragged myself through the day, I didn’t even eat dinner and went to bed.

The night wasn’t any better because at 11:55 PM, I was woken up by thunder and lightning. Let’s just say that being in a hammock while all this is happening gives you fears you didn’t know you had. After hollering to Keith Adams, who assured me it was just cloud-to-cloud thunder, whatever that is, I went back to my covered hammock and hoped no lightning or tree would land on me and fell back asleep eventually. So, let’s just say day one was a day to forget.

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 89 miles (143 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0