The Sequel Tour - Rinse, Not Quite Repeat - CycleBlaze

September 12, 2024

The Sequel Tour

The most recent trip over the summer was epic, extremely so.  As I explained to my friend, it was the whole package deal:  action, adventure, and the search for meaning in a midlife crisis.  As time goes on, the memories from the trip are still being crystallized so to speak.  Pretty soon I will have a much better understanding of what actually took place and how this will lead to the planning for the next big trip.

The tour flowed so well last summer but it really bears repeating but with key changes.  First and most important is that I will circle around at the beginning to repeat Japan and North America without lugging around a heavy bike on airplanes.  That is to say, just rent bikes at the destinations.  

Next, Thailand will be on the agenda where I will already have bikes stored.  From there, they can be taken on airplanes to the Middle East where the trip is going to have a logical conclusion.

Speaking of which, one of the most important takeaways I got from the last trip was how happy I felt in the Gulf countries and how much I fit in there, most specifically the UAE and Dubai.  That was where the signs were leading, so to speak.  By taking this key action last summer, everything seemed to be confirmed.  This will undoubtedly be explored further on this next upcoming trip.  

Another key change will be to swap Armenia with Azerbaijan.  This was what I already decided long ago when faced with a horrendously awful reception at Zvartnots airport.  This was mainly from a taxi driver who ruined his country's reputation and basically made the decision for me.  Thankfully, the people later on in Armenia proved to be incredibly friendly and hospitable and taught me a lot about their country.  But still, if only to get a better understanding of the region, we need to see things from the other side as well. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0