Day 7 - still near Niobrara, NE - Following the Ponca Trail - CycleBlaze

July 21, 2024

Day 7 - still near Niobrara, NE

My original plan had me arriving here at Niobrara State Park on Thursday, then taking the day off Friday to visit the nearby Ponca Tribe of Nebraska Community Grounds, where there's a museum open Monday through Friday. If I'd been on schedule, I would have been able to also attend the Friday evening and Saturday morning events of Niobrara Bridge Days as well. Bridge Days' last event is this morning - an outdoor community worship service. I could make that if I got around.

I was awake at 8:00am, and hurried up to get a shower and put on clean clothes. I was ready to go at 9:10am, enough time I figured to eat breakfast before the service. Even on the empty bike it was a struggle getting back up the hill to the park exit.

At 9:27am I arrived at the Country Cafe, located between the Niobrara River and town. I had their buffet breakfast, which was so good! And it looked like the timing was going to work out well for getting to the church service, which would be a short ride uphill onto town.

I arrived at 10:25am for the 10:30am service. There was a picnic table at the back in the shade which made a good place to sit. I was given a bulletin for the service, which included three hymns. The sermon was about how indispensable we think we are, but how we need rest to be our best. Attendees greeted me before and after the service. One fellow works at the state park, and welcomed me to the service and the park. A lady with a warm, welcoming smile asked several questions about my trip. I believe she said she gathers news for the town. Even the pastor came back to shake hands. I felt welcomed.

I noticed the town's museum was open today, special due to it being alumni reunion weekend. So I went in there next. The man and women there are very knowledgeable, providing information and answering questions. The town of Niobrara has had to move/rebuild twice. I probably spent too much time there, considering I have reports to write. Finally away at 12:40pm.

One more stop before leaving town - some shopping at Niobrara Market. I bought a small box of Crunch 'n Munch, a cinnamon roll, Powerade, and a cold ginger ale (for here). After enjoying the soda on a bench in the shade, I checked out the Sage Brothers Memorial.

I was finally back at my campsite at 1:50pm. The place was empty compared to last night. I found one site where the picnic table was in the shade and close to an electrical outlet - a great place for report writing. Having wifi makes it so much easier for posting these reports. Otherwise I have to reduce the file size of all the pictures to minimize data overcharges. I called places in town asking about wifi for customers to use. The Sportsmen's Bar has it. So now I just needed to get the report done. 

I was getting tired of going up and down hills to get out of the park. The highway was nearby, so I walked over to the end of a fence and discovered that I could get a bike through there. So at 6:38pm, I tried out my new shortcut to get to town. That's so much easier!

The wifi at the Sportsmen's Bar is fast. So I worked away sitting at the counter, but also enjoyed supper: Buffalo Burger, Mashed Potatoes, and Lemonade. I finally wrapped it up at 9:30pm. Was back at the tent at 9:45pm, and in bed at 11:10pm, after giving a little thought to what I might do tomorrow.

Jeff

Heart 2 Comment 0
heading to the park exit
Heart 2 Comment 0
heading to town
Heart 2 Comment 0
Country Cafe - Niobrara
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Get your plate and silverware."
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Photo on wall: Country Cafe surrounded by ice after the 2019 flood. Several other buildings were swept away.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
outdoor church service
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Niobrara before the town moved yet again
Heart 0 Comment 0
model of second town location layout
Heart 0 Comment 0
ballot boxes
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
First TV in town?
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Photo of the beautiful trail bridge they had here until the 2019 flood washed it away.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like a Woodhouse's toad

https://herpneb.unl.edu/woodhouses-toad
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Thanks again.
I thought this fellow did a good job blending in with the sidewalk.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
inside Niobrara Market
Heart 0 Comment 0
Veterans Memorial
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sage Brothers Memorial
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
back to the park
Heart 1 Comment 0
store purchases
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mormon Bridge
Heart 2 Comment 0
wrecked railroad/bicycle bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
my afternoon shortcut between the campground and the highway
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sportsmen's Bar - Niobrara
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Nancy GrahamI love reading about and seeing all the small town lore you are finding. Taking time to do just that, to me, is what bike travel (and any travel really) is all about. You do it right.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelNancy,
Thanks!
Every place seems to have something that's interesting, at least to me.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago