Day 6 - ending near Niobrara, NE - Following the Ponca Trail - CycleBlaze

July 20, 2024

Day 6 - ending near Niobrara, NE

Day 6 - Yankton, SD to Niobrara, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0

Woke up at 6:30am with no pains worth complaining about. It was overcast, but I didn't see any rain in the area on the weather radar. There were small bugs on the tent this morning. Two different types. I don't know if they're different stages of the same bug or different bugs. I got most of them off and packed up. Then got the chain oiled, posted yesterday's report, and got a cup of coffee from the campground office.

Today's destination is Niobrara State Park one mile west of Niobrara, Nebraska - about 48 miles. First would be riding on bike paths through Yankton to get to Fryn' Pan Family Restaurant for breakfast.

I left the campground at 10:15am, and was on one of the bike paths shortly after. Though it wasn't long until I came to a trail closed sign. The path goes along Marne Creek. I proceeded past the sign but soon found out that yesterday's rain deposited a lot of mud on the trail. I eventually had to give it up, and made a more straight line run north to the restaurant. When I was across the street from the place I noticed their parking lot was full. Perkins was just a block further north, so I ended up there instead. That worked. Back outside at 12:10pm.

Noon report today is 4.2 miles.

I went west on W 23rd Street, then north on another bike path to get to SD-50. West from there to SD-52. It was wide shoulder riding - and flat. At 2:23pm I turned onto SD-52. What a delightful road, also with a wide shoulder. And I was hearing meadowlarks.

At 3:04pm, I turned onto Apple Tree Road. At one curving corner I noticed a monument that I would have passed by if I had gone straight to the corner. So I went back around. It was a marker for where the first schoolhouse in this territory had been.

I met up with SD-37 north of Springfield, South Dakota, and was in that town at 4:38pm. I stopped at Doug's Food Center there looking for a small container of chocolate milk. They were sold out, so I settled for an orange soda. Next, thanks to postings in Jeff Lee's journal "Vibes", I saw the huge aluminum boat in town. Jeff and I thought there might be a chance our paths would cross this summer, and we'd get to meet each other on-the-road. We'd been in-touch about routes and schedules. It turned out Jeff was through the cross-paths area before I was even underway. But I'm receiving the benefit of reading how the roads are and sights to see in this area before I get there. Thanks Jeff!

Jeff's best help to me was knowing Bottom Road just ahead was open and rideable. I got started on that road at 5:20pm, just after leaving Springfield. What a joy that road is to bicycle on! Except at its end, where it was an uphill walk for me to get back to SD-37. Nearby was a scenic overlook, and I was there at 6:45pm.

The overlook is for the Missouri River, and also the Chief Standing Bear Memorial Bridge, which I'd be crossing shortly to get to Niobrara. The view was great, and the bridge ride all downhill for me. Now I was in Nebraska again.

I arrived in Niobrara at 7:22pm. Stopped at Niobrara Trading Post for chocolate milk and a few food items, which may be for supper or breakfast. The town's festival - Niobrara Bridge Days - was happening this weekend. I meant to be here for most of it, but I'm two days behind on my schedule. I passed by an event outside at the town's shopping area that had the crowd of people gathered excited. Turns out they were watching catfish racing.

I took some pictures as I moved on west. I'd be crossing two bridges that had to be rebuilt after flooding of the Niobrara River in 2019. There was as much ice as water in that flood. I remember hearing about that at the time on the national news.

I made it over the two bridges in the evening light, then struggled up the hill to Niobrara State Park. The tent camping area is at the far end of the park, and doesn't have electricity service, so I decided instead to pay the RV camping fee to stay at a nearby spot with electricity. I was having a hard time picking a spot. Finally settled on site 59, but it wasn't until 9:05pm that I was self-registered and ready to set up the tent. Had that done by 9:40pm, then sent out my evening report. This has been a good day.

Jeff

Heart 0 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltNymph stage of some kind of true bug. Lack of wings makes it look like a nymph stage. Protrusions on abdomen make it look like maybe some kind of aphid. Despite endless scrolling, I found no good image match.

It is a bug...
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Thanks! I didn't mean to cause you so much work.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Jeff TeelHa! All effort is of my own accord. Curiosity...
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLadybird beetle larva

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/48988-Hippodamia/browse_photos?term_id=1&term_value_id=6&place_id=3
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltPerhaps it was there to consume the guy above?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltNeat footrest!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
too muddy
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Healthy Yankton Rented Gardens
Heart 3 Comment 0
Not enough sun to bake this pizza.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
not real
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bottom Road
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chief Standing Bear Memorial Bridge
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
watching Catfish Races
Heart 0 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamCan’t help but wonder what catfish races look like ;’-). People are able to come up with many things as entertainment!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
I was interested also, but there was no way I could get close enough to see!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Niobrara River Bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mormon Canal Bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Niobrara River
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 223 miles (359 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Jeff LeeJeff, I'm glad some of my journal was useful to you!

Bottom Road was certainly one of the nicest roads in that area.

Of course, I didn't have a steep climb in the direction I went 😁
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelJeff,
Your journal isn't only useful, it's awesome! I'm barely able to keep up with what I need to be doing on this trip, so I'll have to catch up on the latter part of your trip when I get back.
You had a tough go of it with that cold, but you endured and made it to the end. Well done!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago