Day 5 - still at Yankton, SD - Following the Ponca Trail - CycleBlaze

July 19, 2024

Day 5 - still at Yankton, SD

I slept well enough last night, waking up four or five times due to hand pain. I took pain pills at 10:45pm and 4:00am. When I got up this morning at 6:57am, my hand was a little better. My knee was definitely better.

The KOA office here doesn't open until 8:00am, so I would have to wait to see if staying here another night would work. In the meantime, it rained for 20 minutes. I'm using a NOS (New Old Stock) tent this year. I'd waterproofed the seams a few weeks ago, and was pleased that there were no leaks that I could see. I had Pop Tarts for breakfast, then went to the office.

The check-in worker looked at the computer screen then said, "No, that won't work." after I asked him if site T-3 was available tonight. I told him I would be willing to move to a different site. He then spent the longest time on the computer not saying a word. Finally he asked for my name and payment, and said, "OK, you're all set." I asked what site it was, and he said T-3. I said, "I thought you said that wouldn't work." He said, "I made it work."

I'd noticed that they had a coffee pot there in the office, so asked how much for a cup. It was free. When I went to leave is when I noticed it was raining again. I'm glad I'm not bicycling today.

At 8:40am I called my wife for what turned out to be a 56-minute chat. Lots of talk about the storm that went through Monday night. Power was back on at our house 22 hours before the anticipated restoration. The AC technician came the next day and checked out the system - no Freon had been loss when the compressor blew off its pad. The weather service is saying now that there was a tornado in the derecho, and the path was over our neighborhood.

Rain here was back at 9:44am, and didn't stop until 1:00pm. That was fine. I had reports to write. I did stop at noon for lunch in the tent. At 2:30pm, the rain was back. That lasted until 3:50pm. Got the report for two days ago posted, and later yesterday's. Now I just have today's.

I stopped for supper at my picnic table at 7:00pm. The buffalo gnats were back, but tolerable.

I overheard a camper this evening tell another that we'd received 4 inches of rain here today. I just checked online: 2.34 inches at the Chan Gurney Municipal Airport in Yankton.

I'm planning to push on tomorrow. I'm already two days behind. Hope it's not raining in the morning.

Jeff

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltBut it was a warm rain... :-)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Nancy GrahamI really like this shot out of your tent showing the rain and wet terrain. Looks like a great day to have a layover in your current site ;’-).
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltYes. And a good one for testing the new tent.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks. With reports to do, it all worked out well.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
lunch
Heart 1 Comment 0
supper
Heart 2 Comment 0
from Lincoln, IL NWS office - July 15, 2024 tornado path
Heart 0 Comment 0
from Lincoln, IL NWS office - July 15, 2024 tornado report
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0