Day 40 - ending at Lincoln, NE - Following the Ponca Trail - CycleBlaze

August 23, 2024

Day 40 - ending at Lincoln, NE

Day 40 - Crete, NE to Lincoln, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0

Thunder woke me up at 5:55am this morning. Another intense storm was off to the west, just like yesterday morning. It didn't look like I'd have time to pack up before the rain arrived, so I rolled over and went back to sleep. At 7:30am I was awakened by the noise of a riding lawn mower. It hadn't rained yet, and also like yesterday, the storm had slowed down and was diminishing. In the end, there was no rain here in Crete. 

I'd planned a short day for today. I was thinking it would be about 40 mi, then I checked my itinerary. Just 28 miles! That was to get from Crete to TownHouse Extended Stay Hotel near the Nebraska State Capitol in Lincoln. Anyway, mileage wasn't a concern; whether or not the motel had a room available for me for two nights was. So I called them. They had a room available and I could keep my bicycle in the room. The girl I was talking with set me up with a second floor room, after saying that she doesn't like the last available room on the main floor. They have an elevator so a second floor room shouldn't be a problem. It felt good to have that settled.

On to breakfast then. I unpacked the cinnamon rolls given to me last night, and the canned coffee I'd bought. That was a very enjoyable breakfast, probably because I wasn't in a rush.

I was packed up and leaving at 10:22am. I wasn't very far along when I came to an intersection blocked by a stopped train. There was already another bicyclist waiting there. He was getting impatient, and talked about throwing his bike under one of the cars and sliding through. I was alarmed to hear this, but he said he's done a lot of crazier things than that. I checked my routing, and realized I didn't have to cross these tracks to get to where I was going. But I stayed with the other cyclist to keep him from doing something I didn't want to see. He wants to build a hybrid motorized bicycle/motorcycle. Finally the train moved, so he crossed the empty tracks and I tried out my other way to get out of town.

Most times I can't remember if I've routed on gravel roads or paved roads. Today it turned out to be gravel roads and paved roads. They were all hillier than I had expected, but nothing too bad. I was on NE-103 for a while, which required more paying attention and pulling off from time to time. One pull-off though was just to record the noon mileage, which was 7.8 miles.

At 12:25pm I turned off NE-103 onto Yankee Hill Road. There was quite a view from here and I could just make out the top of the state capitol building. I kept stair-stepping east and north, eventually arriving in Denton at 1:14pm. I saw they have a place to eat in town - Daily Double, so stopped there. I had their Chicken Fried Steak Dinner with a Dr Pepper. Also was able to get ice for my thermos and a charge for my phone.

I left Denton going east for 5 miles, then north for 3 miles on Coddington Avenue to get to Bison Trail. Five miles to go. I entered Lincoln on this trail. Then on to Jamaica Trail. Next, D Street, then N Street. N Street has a dedicated two-way bicycle path on the south side of the street and there are special traffic signals just for the bicycles. The motel is just one block off of N Street. I arrived there at 4:33pm. The elevator, hallways, and doorways were all wide enough that I had no problem getting my bike in room 210.

I've taken a shower now, and have on a clean set of clothes. Feels nice. One other thing I did tonight was to walk a few blocks south and west so I could get a picture of the capitol lit up at night. It's my plan to take a tour inside the capitol tomorrow. Maybe also visit a few museums that are within walking distance. Hopefully there'll also be time for posting reports.

Jeff

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Big Blue River
Heart 1 Comment 0
blocked crossing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Road 2250
Heart 2 Comment 0
Road D
Heart 2 Comment 0
NE-103
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yankee Hill Road
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamSuch a simple photo brings a calm feeling. The watering can makes the photo. Nicely found Jeff.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks. I've been impressed with the thought and time some have placed in their yard displays. Ones that don't get too cluttered seem the best.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Midway Road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Denton Road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crusin by Mary M. Kolar
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bison Trail
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jamaica North Trail
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 5
Bill ShaneyfeltGood ol' differential grasshopper.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/63518-Melanoplus-differentialis
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bill ShaneyfeltWhen I was a kid, we called them regular old grasshoppers.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
What's differential about them? ;-)
These are the grasshoppers we recognized and played with the most when I was a kid.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Once again, thanks for your input to my journal. It adds so much!
I was heavy on the insect side this year, but you handled it, no problem
:)
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bill ShaneyfeltDid a bit of internet searching for the origin of the name "differential" but only found one entomologist who said he thinks it was because of the distinctive chevrons on its leg that made it easy to differentiate from any other grasshoppers...

Makes sense, but who knows for sure? Apparently nobody now. Trivia lost to antiquity.

Always glad to help folks do nature IDs. It gives me an outlet since my knees will not permit me to tour any more, and since my Zoology degree lay mostly dormant during my explosives safety career. If I could have had any job as a career back in the day, I would have loved to lead nature ID hikes. I now get to do it from the comfort of my basement! :-)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
N Street
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Room 210
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamBeautiful lighting on this one. You captured it well with the dark blue sky surrounding the lit building.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamWorth the walk, I thought.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

Today's ride: 27 miles (43 km)
Total: 1,462 miles (2,353 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0