Day 38 - ending at Hebron, NE - Following the Ponca Trail - CycleBlaze

August 21, 2024

Day 38 - ending at Hebron, NE

Day 38 - Concordia, KS to Hebron, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got up at 6:40am this morning, after sleeping so very well. A short mileage day is planned for today, so I wasn't too concerned. It was pleasantly cool last night. I think it was the first time this trip where I actually crawled into the sleeping bag right at the start. They have free wifi here at Airport Park Campground. I wanted to take advantage of that and get at least one day's report posted before I left. With that done I packed up and was on my way at 10:08am. 

This evening I plan to be at Riverside Park in Hebron, Nebraska, which is 48 miles away. Highway US-81 goes straight from Concordia, Kansas, where I'm at, to Hebron. I checked my routing. I'd only planned to be on US-81 part of the day. We'll see. 

First I had to get through Concordia. There were places to see and a breakfast to eat. I rode on the sidewalk all the way to downtown. The first sight to see was The Whole Wall Mural on the side of the Cloud County Museum Annex. It's the longest sculptured brick mural in the US. As I was taking pictures of that, a worker at the annex invited me into the museum. Their displays inside are impressive also. The building used to be a hardware store and then a car dealership, so there were lots of cars on display. Before I left I got info on a place to eat - Mi Ranchito Tex-Mex. On my way there I came across some of the Orphan Train Town Statues. The National Orphan Train Complex Museum and Research Center is located in Concordia. I was going to pass by that later.

I arrived at the breakfast place at 11:05am. There was a recumbent bike parked in front. When it went inside I met the owner - Emily. She had her service dog Elvis with her. She's tried several different bicycles and arrangements so she could walk Elvis using a bike. This recumbent is working well for both of them. It was a delight to meet her and such a beautiful, well-behaved dog.

It was noon just as I got out of the restaurant. Morning mileage was 2.2 miles.

The Orphan Train Museum was nearby and I passed that next. The museum is closed between noon and 1:00pm. I was almost relieved, because I really needed to be bicycling. One more place to see just northeast of town was the World War II POW Camp. Its museum was closed also, so I was on my way according to my plan, heading north on a paved county road two miles east of US-81. When I crossed KS-148, I was now on a gravel county road. At one intersection I talked some with a pickup truck driver, who was asking about my trip. Later on up the road, I met him again. This time he was working with some cattle, but walked toward the road and said, "I have a few more questions if you have the time." He was holding a lasso rope, coiling it up like an expert. Conard is a farmer. I told him I have never seen a farmer with a lasso, at least not a farmer in Illinois. He was interested in what job I had retired from, which led us to talking about the USDA. I think we could have talked for quite a while, but he was needed back with the cattle, so we said farewells.

Conard had told me the gravel road I was on used to be Old Highway 81. I did notice later some pavement here and there showing through the gravel.

The road finally curved northwest into Belleville. I knew there is a Dairy Queen there, and my mind was set on another banana split. After my "lunch" and after getting through town, I hooked up with US-81 north of Belleville at 3:51pm. That was according to plan.

I was in Nebraska at 4:58pm. My plan at this point was to go west some and then north through Chester, Nebraska. First though, I turned left back into Kansas, to C&M Supply (gas station) for a strawberry milk and an apple pie for eating now. The reason I was going through Chester was to check out their campground. At home I was never able to figure out where exactly in town their campground is. After looking around, I still don't know! Hebron wasn't too far away now, but my plan had me off US-81 to get there, and I wasn't sure whether or not that plan was gravel roads. Anyway I decided it was late enough that I would get back on the highway and make short work of these last 12 miles.

Near Hebron I got off US-81 and onto NE-85F Link to get into town. A glance back south confirmed that my plan had been gravel roads for this last section. I've been to Hebron before, also camped at Riverside Park before. Hebron is home to the world's largest porch swing, so I stopped by there for a picture. I can't remember if I actually sat on the swing when I was here before, but I did this evening. It takes a little bit to get it going, but then it just keeps going on its own. 

Last time I was at Riverside Park I set up my tent under the pavilion. This time I'm at Site #9, which has an electrical box. While I was getting set up, a fellow in a pickup truck stopped to talk. He was interested in discussing politics and religion, but he was also impressed with my bicycle and my trip. I disconnect from news when I'm on these bicycle trips. I'll have to look at the literature he gave me when I get back home.

I worked on the evening report sitting at my picnic table until it was too dark to see. I forgot to mention earlier that there was a strong southeast breeze again all day, which pushed me right along, and kept me cool. It's been another great day, especially with so many interesting people to meet.

Jeff

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamInterestingly, I was in this town, toured all around, took many of the same photos, and met the nicest woman who was then managing the little museum. We were not of a bicycle tour, but did bicycle around the town. We loved it a lot and were happy to have just happened upon it. A delightful place. Saw the autos and bikes in the shop and loved those too.;’-)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
I think the woman you met at the museum is still working there. If it's not her, her replacement Michelle is just as nice. She was so welcoming! I'm glad I got "pulled" into this place.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Extra bacon was offered as a substitute for no hash browns.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Emily and Elvis
Heart 4 Comment 5
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
OK, I'm going the need help with this one.
ftw? Forward Two Wheels?
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kathleen JonesTo Jeff TeelFor the win! You might need to text more or do more social media to keep up with the youngsters.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
oic. rofl. ttyl.
thx,
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kathleen JonesTo Jeff Teel🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣👏🏽💯🤪
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
The National Orphan Train Museum
Heart 2 Comment 0
Republican River
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Conard
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Belleville ahead
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Courthouse
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nebraska ahead
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Chester, Nebraska
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Spring Creek
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hebron, Nebraska
Heart 0 Comment 0
World's Largest Porch Swing
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 1,365 miles (2,197 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0