Day 35 - still at McPherson, KS - Following the Ponca Trail - CycleBlaze

August 18, 2024

Day 35 - still at McPherson, KS

Initially last night it was pretty warm in the tent. The heat from the dryer was still radiating off the sheet I use inside my sleeping bag. But by morning I was covered up in the sleeping bag, thanks to the pleasant breeze flowing through the tent. Being a day off, I didn't feel guilty about sleeping until 7:40am.

I ate a couple of toaster pastries, then got started on selecting pictures for the journal. Campground owner Jim stopped by at 10:45am asking if I'd like a cup of coffee. I followed him over to the office, where there is a Keurig machine. Jim doesn't drink coffee, and we were both getting confused on how the machine worked, so Jim got Lori, who knew just what to do. That coffee was such a treat for me this morning.

I've been sitting on the deck stairs on the west side of the house in the shade to work on reports. As the sun made its way west, I kept having to move up a step. Finally there was not enough shade left. So at 1:00pm I moved over to the room with tables that they have here. I finally had yesterday's report posted at 2:15pm. I was quite surprised with how cloudy and windy it was when I looked outside. So I checked the weather radar, which showed pretty intense storms to the east.

Even though the tent is on the west side of this house, the strong east wind was shaking it a lot. So I got out my four extra guylines to add support to the poles. There is a slight chance for rain here later, but now it was just windy and cool. I'd almost fallen asleep earlier posting the report. When I'm not on trips, I almost always take a Sunday afternoon nap. It was breezy and cool in the tent, so I gave taking a nap a try, starting at 3:00pm. That works so well. I was awake and ready to carry on at 4:10pm.

The rain to the west was still far enough away that I had time to make it to where the restaurants are. I checked for restaurants using Google Maps. Initially I was thinking Applebee's, but then noticed Woodie's Smokehouse in the same vicinity. I'd never heard of that place. I left the campground at 4:20pm for Woodie's. The Farmer Stacker Sandwich is what I ordered when I arrived. It is definitely a knife-and-fork type of meal. Very good. Woodie's only offers cinnamon toast or cookies for dessert. I could see the nearby Braum's out the window as I ate. Maybe it was time to get that banana split I've been obsessing over. So that's what I did next. I was back at the campground at 5:58pm, contently full.

I called my wife shortly after. It's a joy to talk with her. She mentioned folks at church are wondering when I will be back. OK, I just did some figuring. If I'm able to stay on-schedule from now on, I should be back in Morton on Tuesday, August 27. But knowing how things go, you better add a day or two to that. 

With the earlier cloud cover and the breeze, it has been mercifully cool today. The forecast for this coming week is for highs in the low to mid 80s. I'm looking forward to that. 

Let me see now if I can get some comment responses posted before I call it a night.

Jeff

Heart 0 Comment 0
Thank you Jim and Lori!
Heart 1 Comment 0
losing my shade
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 6
Kathleen JonesThat beard is looking very road-worthy.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Thanks. The beard's all for you. I was planning to try to keep up with shaving on this trip.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kathleen JonesTo Jeff TeelAppreciate your sacrifice.

Does that truck look a lot like yours?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kathleen JonesTo Kathleen JonesOh - and your noon mileages are wonderfully inconsistent. Keep it up.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesNo, mine has more rust!
It is the color of my first truck - a 1965 Chevy C10.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesInconsistency is easy :)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
storms to the east
Heart 0 Comment 0
on my way to eat
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Woodie's Farmer Stacker
Heart 1 Comment 2
Rich FrasierThat looks deadly…hope it was good!!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff TeelTo Rich FrasierRich,
It was good! I got it with the spicy beans.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Braum's Banana Split
Heart 2 Comment 0
extra guylines for tent
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 7
Kathleen JonesWhich way they heading, north or south?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesNorth.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kathleen JonesTo Jeff TeelBirdbrains.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rich FrasierNice picture, Jeff!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff TeelTo Rich FrasierRich,
Thanks! Just happened to see them.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesI never considered that.
Sometimes I go in the wrong direction . . .
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Nancy GrahamInteresting how the wings are in different alignment for most of them. I always think of them in coordination with wings in same as each other. It is a nice shot Jeff.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 4 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamLovely shot over this little bank of water ;’-).
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks. I happened upon this pond as I walked west trying to get a clearer view of the sunset.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0