Day 30 - ending at Ponca City, OK - Following the Ponca Trail - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2024

Day 30 - ending at Ponca City, OK

Day 30 - Pawhuska, OK to Ponca City, OK
Heart 0 Comment 0

Drinking 32 ounces of soda last night was not a good idea. I don't think Big Red has caffeine in it, but I didn't think about the sugar. I went to bed at 10:31pm last night, and was still awake, more or less, at 1:00am. So I got up and sorted pictures until 1:50pm.

I woke up at 6:45am this morning and checked the weather radar. There were storms to the west, but they were moving northeast and might miss Pawhuska. So I packed up. Winds from the storms were here at 7:30am, about the time I was trying to take down the tent. The rain did miss us and the bike was packed ready to go at 8:25am.

Yesterday's high was 92F. Today there's a Heat Advisory posted. But with the cloud cover and the breeze, it didn't feel bad at all this morning.

I arrived at Buffalo Joe's Drive In in town for breakfast at 8:33am. Then over to Pawhuska Hometown Foods for Powerade. I finally cleared town at 10:14am. Destination: Ponca City RV Park in Ponca City, Oklahoma. Routing: US-60 to Kaw Dam Road, then Lake Road into town. 

Initially the shoulder of US-60 was only on fair shape. That changed suddenly at 11:00am for me, when I got to new pavement and shoulder.

I'd gone 17.4 miles at noon. It didn't seem like there was as many hills today as yesterday. But there sure was a strong tailwind for me - out of the southeast. Scenery today was grasslands, with a few trees here and there, and at one spot, a group of wind turbines. 

At 2:00pm I made the right turn onto Kaw Dam Road, which soon went over the dam for Kaw Lake. I stopped at Kaw Lake Overlook at 2:30pm. The view there was about the same as I had from the dam. Another sight to see here is all the stone fence posts lining the overlook's road and parking lot.

I had a ways to go on Lake Road, and was pulling over from time to time because there wasn't any shoulder to speak of. And it was sort of hilly, until closer to Ponca City when there was a fun downhill for me. Lake Road must be one of the major east-west roads, since it was getting busy with traffic. So I rode on the sidewalk some. 

I was on side streets the last mile or so to get to the RV park. Arrived at the campground office at 4:05pm. Electricity was going to cost me an extra $20 per night, so I'm doing without. I registered for two nights, which was my at-home plan. Tomorrow I want to tour some of Ponca City and also ride south to White Eagle, Oklahoma, where many of the relocated Ponca Tribe settled.

I've been to this RV park before, back in 2016, and am camping in the same field south of the campground office. It's near the airport and I'm hearing planes overhead now and then.

I figured out where I wanted to set the tent, then decided I wanted supper first. So I got back on the loaded bike to get to Rockin' Rooster, since it was the closest place. However, I missed a turn and decided that I would go the extra distance to get to Braum's Ice Cream ahead. That turned out to be 3.3 miles from the campground! I ordered lemonade with my meal, but ended up with limeade. Half a lime was floating in my cup. Pretty sour. My wife would have liked it. Then I had a cherry sundae for dessert. When I was leaving Braum's parking lot I noticed next door there is a snow cone place. I was still trying to cool off, so I bought a large cream soda flavored cup of ice, which I ate sitting on the curb in the shade of their shack.

I was finally back at the campground at 7:11pm. Setting up the tent had me sweating some more. I finally found a source for cold water that my water bottle would fit under, which is the sink in the laundry room. I washed my face and brushed my teeth, then sat on the platform where a tipi had sat in 2016. The still strong southeast breeze at this spot finally cooled me down. I'm going to wait until morning to take a shower. I think that makes more sense.

Note today's reported mileage includes the 6.6 miles I did after arriving at the campground when I rode to supper and back.

Hopefully I'll fall right to sleep tonight. If not, I'm blaming that snow cone.

Jeff

Note: I've received feedback that Big Red does contain caffeine!

huts at campground
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pawhuska
Heart 0 Comment 0
US-60
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Kaw Lake
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
making a trail
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lake Road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ponca RV Park
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 1,045 miles (1,682 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0