Day 28 - still at Nowata, OK - Following the Ponca Trail - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2024

Day 28 - still at Nowata, OK

Woke up at 6:58am in this motel room bed. It had rained some overnight, but was just cloudy this morning. Chores for today were to post reports, do laundry, and eat. Of course, eating was first. 

The place for breakfast in Nowata is Depot Cafe. I left at 7:40am on the empty bike to get there. The table I selected to sit at had a little placard stating, "You will be cold". After a while was able to feel what they were getting at. The AC was blowing mainly on my back. It was tolerable. The meal was very good.

I passed a city park named Spikes Railroad Park on my way back. The fence around the park is made with railroad rails.

At 9:15am I started my laundry. When that was done I walked across the highway to Snack Express gas station for a large Dr Pepper and Zingers. Then I got to work on the reports while sitting outside my motel room. It was very pleasant with a cool south breeze and no rain in sight. I was happy with the progress I was making.

I was pretty well caught up on journal postings when the motel owners showed up. They were waiting for some folks to arrive who were going to book a room. Besides telling about my bike trip, I got to hear about interesting people who have stayed here. One was Dewayne Bryan, who was leading a charity walk at the time. Dewayne is father of Country Artist Zach Bryan. I also learned there's a mostly off-pavement cross-country route that goes through Nowata. I just looked it up. It's the TransAmerica Trail (TAT). Wikipedia states it's for dual-sport motorcycles, off-road vehicles, and touring bicycles. Touring bicycles!? Anyway, the owners didn't know anything about the trail until TAT travelers started staying here.

We also talked about places to eat in town, and they reminded me of the Mexican restaurant here - El Tapatio, which is just a short walk away. So at 4:50pm that's where I headed for supper. I was hungrier than I thought. I ate most all the chips and salsa. My main dish was Burrito El Tapatio. I really enjoyed that, along with my once-a-week beer.

I rode through Nowata back in 2016, and took a picture of part of the mural on their water tank. That tank is across the street from El Tapatio, so I went over and got another picture. The paint is fading!

I've been working on today's report since getting back. Still no rain. But now there's a chance predicted for tomorrow. I guess that's what the rain gear I'm carrying with me is for. Anyway, until tomorrow morning I get to enjoy all the amenities of this motel room.

Jeff

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Spikes Railroad Park
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0