Day 22 - still at Emporia, KS - Following the Ponca Trail - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2024

Day 22 - still at Emporia, KS

This campground in Emporia, Kansas is right near the I-35/I-335 intersection. And there must be railroad tracks a little farther away, so I had truck and train traffic noise to put me to sleep. There was nothing too loud and it actually worked out very well, for I had a good night's sleep.

Up at 7:35am. Listened to my weather radio. A high of 99F and southwest wind 10 to 15 mph. Decided to take the day off. Two other factors helping with that decision are the wifi here works very well, and they have laundry machines available. One thing I decided to try different was to go ahead and wear yesterday's clothes until this evening, then get a shower and do laundry. 

Next on my mind was breakfast. IHOP is a 15-minute bicycle ride away, so I headed that way at 9:05am. It took me a little longer because I made a wrong turn that was getting me on the freeway. The Split Decision Breakfast with lemonade is what I had this morning. My waitress offered butterpecan syrup, which I didn't know they had. She'd noticed I was riding a bike and offered me a large cup of to-go ice, even though it's a day off. When I got back to the campground, the ice was already half gone, but it filled my thermos, and I was able to get four thermos-fills of ice water out of it before the ice was gone. 

I went to the office at 10:20am. There was a worker there even though they advertise their open office hours from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. I paid another $45, then walked over to the shaded area beyond the tent to get some report work done. In between working, I'd lay down on the grass for short naps. They weren't deep sleeps, but very enjoyable with the breeze blowing past me. I had thought about 'camping out' in their air conditioned bathroom this afternoon, but this tree shaded area was working fine.

By mid-afternoon I was up-to-date on reports postings, and even responding to some of the unanswered comment posts! What a good feeling that is, and gives me a better chance at staying on top of postings.

At 5:00pm I gathered that my dirty clothes, grabbed my last set of clean clothes, and headed for a shower in the air conditioned bathroom. Next then, laundry. All done just before 7:00pm.

Had supper from my lunch bag next. I was going to add a cold soda to that but they don't have any cold drinks in the campground office. The breeze seems to have died down. It's still warm, but pleasant enough. This day-off sure has helped. I'm ready for tomorrow now.

Jeff

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0