Day 21 - ending at Emporia, KS - Following the Ponca Trail - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2024

Day 21 - ending at Emporia, KS

Day 21 - Council Grove, KS to Emporia, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

Reluctantly up at 6:47am. Of course there's no wifi here at Richey Cove, but I wanted to get yesterday's report posted. After attempting, I found out there's not enough cell signal here to do it.

Ate toaster pastries, and enjoyed my probably last Starbucks Doubleshot. The south breeze off the lake felt nice. Finally got around to packing and left at 11:08am.

It was a short planned day - just make it to Emporia RV Park and Campground at the west side of Emporia, Kansas. Today I'd ride some on the Flint Hills Nature Trail, then mostly highways, until near the end when I need to get on gravel roads for a picture. First I needed to get to Council Grove for lunch at Saddlerock Cafe.

After getting over the dam for Council Grove Lake, I met Konner on a scooter. He wanted to know about my trip. He enjoys his scooter and is contemplating an upgrade - something with a little more horsepower. 

When I got the Council Grove I stopped at the Kaw Mission, and saw that it doesn't open till 1:00pm today. The cafe closes at 1:30pm, so I moved on. 

Noon arrived: 4.3 miles. Another slow start, going to be made slower by stopping for lunch.

I arrived at the cafe at 12:10pm. There was a 10 minute wait for me, being there were so many after-church people there. I had their meatloaf dinner, lemonade, and apple crisp. Very good.

The start of the Flint Hill Nature Trail is almost at the cafe's front door. I got started riding that at 1:15pm. That took me past the Kaw Agency Building, or what's left of it anyway. I toured the area a little on foot, but all their information signs are missing. At 2:44pm I was back on the trail until I arrived at S200 Road.

I went south and east to get to Dunlap (at 3:45pm), then farther in the same directions to get to Americus (at 4:59pm). There's a Casey's there and I stopped for a medium Dr Pepper with ice and a strawberry milk. Then I went back to the shaded park I'd passed. That break was so refreshing!

I got on the highway south of Americus. Almost no shoulder at all, and it was fairly busy, but it worked OK. Went on my 2 mile detour for pictures, then back to the highway.

Arrived at the campground after 7:00pm - the office closing time, but the owner was still there and checked me in, giving me a golf cart ride to show me the site. I have electricity and wifi, so should be able to at least get yesterday's report posted. 

I checked the tires this evening for the first time since before the start of this trip. The front was at 63 psi and the back at 42 psi. Brought them both back up to 75 psi and oiled the chain.

The tent's up and loaded with gear. Today was definitely the least hilly day I've had so far, but it was hot. Tomorrow's plan has me going farther than today, and it's supposed to be hotter with the wind against me. Tuesday's forecast sounds better. Maybe yet another day off? I need the 'Heat Schedule' schools use.

Jeff

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Konner
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Saddlerock Cafe
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
[June 27, 1877 - Little John Creek above Kaw Agency. 17 miles]
Heart 1 Comment 0
Monument to Unknown Kanza Warrior
Heart 2 Comment 0
Kaw Agency Building
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pause Point #1
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pause Point #2
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Americus
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
[June 28, 1877 - south of Neosho River. 18 miles]
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 4
Rich Frasier45 bucks for a tent? That Starbucks coffee drink doesn’t seem so expensive now !
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Rich FrasierRich,
Yes, now that you have me looking at it that way! Though this place is really nice. The bathroom is spotless, and air conditioned! I thought about hanging out there this afternoon, since I'm here for one more night, but it isn't bad in the shade of the trees with the breeze blowing. Their wifi is very fast also, and that's been helping me get caught up, journal-wise.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Timothy SwitzerTo Rich FrasierExactly what I was thinking, Rich Frasier!!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Timothy SwitzerTim, Rich,
OK guys, maybe a few more Starbucks, or their generic equivalents, for special occasions.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 681 miles (1,096 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0