Day 2 - still at Decatur, NE - Following the Ponca Trail - CycleBlaze

July 16, 2024

Day 2 - still at Decatur, NE

Trucks were making a lot of noise going over the nearby bridge with its open-grate decking. It's a pleasant enough sound to listen to, sort of like trains going by, but I wanted to sleep, so got out my earplugs.

I woke up at 6:35am after sleeping so well. The sun was showing but that didn't last. First task this morning was a shower. Next drink the can of Coke I received last night. There are no restaurants in town that are open before 11:00 am. So, back in the tent due to the mosquitoes, I sorted pictures and worked on the report. This went well, but was taking a lot of time. I need to learn how to condense.

At 12:03pm I took off on the empty bike for Broadway Brothers for lunch. I tried their Monstrosity Burger with onion rings. Also got a chocolate shake. The burger had chili and sause on it, so I ate it with a fork. All very good. I spent a lot of time afterwards posting yesterday's report using their customer wifi. I ignored notifications of texts from my wife as I worked. I wrapped up the report at 2:00pm, then checked on what was going on.

My wife had sent pictures and messages of storm damage that had occurred last night when a severe storm blew through. I was outside now at Decatur's small downtown park. I called home for details of what happened. A lot of Morton is without power, and several main roads are closed. Lots of trees and branches down. Our air conditioner condenser had been blown off its pad. My wife had been on her way home from helping with our new grandson, and was about eight blocks from home when the storm hit. She was dodging debris as it flew about, but ended up running over someone's porch chair cushion as it flew by. She made it to our driveway, then our basement. Her day was more exciting than mine! Power restoration for our house is estimated to be tomorrow night.

It was 3:00pm now. I stopped by Decatur Express for a small chocolate milk, then headed back to the campground. It seemed much cooler today, with a pleasant breeze. The tent was shaded well, so I took a 45-minute nap inside. Then started on today's report.

At 6:17pm I rode back uptown for supper at Green Lantern. My server figured their tenderloin sandwich wouldn't be too much food, so I ordered that and lemonade. It was just the right amount, and very good. The weather report was on their TV. Sounds like rain for the weekend, but no more terribly hot days for awhile.

After supper I stopped back by Broadway Brothers to double-check on the time they open - 11:00am. I ended up having a pleasant conversation with the waitress and some customers about no breakfast place in town. There used to be - Betty's Cafe, which was in this same building. I'd enjoyed a breakfast there in 2013. Back outside I used their wifi to upload most of the report.

I'm feeling fully-recovered this evening. Breakfast tomorrow at Decatur Express and I'll be back at it.

Jeff

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Broadway Brothers - Decatur
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
W.W. Small Memorial Park
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Saw this bug next to the river. Looks like an invasive to me.
Heart 4 Comment 4
Scott AndersonI’ll steal some of Bill’s fun here. This looks like a dogbane leaf beetle. Far from invasive, it looks like a desirable critter because it feeds on dogbane - when it can be bothered anyway. According to Wikipedia, a major aspect of this beetles' day to day life is sexual reproduction, as the beetles typically live a highly polygamous lifestyle.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltYes, Scott is correct. I always enjoy finding these lovely beetles!! They are so chill.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chrysochus_auratus
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Scott AndersonScott,
Thanks! I did see others around enjoying their favorite pastime ;-)
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Thanks for the confirmation, and your input, as always.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Green Lantern - Decatur
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bridge to Iowa
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Kathleen JonesThat was quite the storm back home. Hope power comes back soon.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rich FrasierSounds like a day off was the right choice. Good call!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Thanks. Lights were back on 22 hours before anticipated :)
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Rich FrasierRich,
Yes, it helped a lot, and gave me more time to enjoy Decatur.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago