Day 13 - still at Seward, NE - Following the Ponca Trail - CycleBlaze

July 27, 2024

Day 13 - still at Seward, NE

I woke up on this "day to stay put" at 6:42am. A complimentary breakfast is served between 6:00am and 9:00am here at East Hills Inns & Suites. I headed to the breakfast area at 7:10am. The motel owner greeted me and asked what I wanted for breakfast, pointing toward the menu on the wall. I didn't read all the details on the menu that I should have ("Pick one", "Add one to it"), and ordered more than that. In fact I didn't notice what I'd done until the next morning, when I apologized. The owner (now chef) wasn't at all concerned, and I could tell she was happy to make as much as I was wanting to eat. It was served amazingly quick. Very good.

I started working on reports, taking a break just long enough to start a load of laundry at 9:45am, since machines are available here.

Around 5:15pm, I emptied the bike and took it outside. Some of the rear wheel non-drive side spokes seemed too loose. I ended up tightening seven of them. While outside I met a fellow, George, who asked if I was the bicyclist who was touring. The motel owner had told him about me, noting he'd have a hard time figuring who I was because I didn't wear bicycling clothes. George is a touring bicyclist, but at the moment is on his way to the Black Hills driving. He'd stayed here one time on a touring trip, and was here again because it's such a nice place. George rides a Trek 520, but knows about the Surly LHT, and why I am using it as a touring bike. He rides on the heavier side with lots of gear, just like I do. It was so much fun talking with him. I could relate to everything he mentioned about touring and bicycles. 

At 6:10pm, I headed off west on the bike for supper at Valentino's. I ordered a Dr Pepper, lasagna, and the salad bar. The lasagna was a huge serving, in a pan with a lid to take what was leftover home. I tried, but I was only able to eat about two-thirds of what they'd served me.

I was done with supper at 7:28pm. Rode into town to see the sights. I got a better daylight picture of the movie theater in town. What I mainly wanted to see was the world's largest time capsule. There's a pyramid above ground, with a square room underground. It's big enough that they have whole cars inside! It's scheduled to be opened next year - 50 years after it was sealed. 

Back at the motel, I received a "catch up on news" phone call from my wife. I also got to talk to our older grandson. He had lots to share about his fun time on a trip with the family to the aquarium and zoo in St. Louis.

I completed and got posted reports for Days 10 and 11 before bed at 11:30pm. I really need to figure out how to do this part of touring better as I go.

Jeff

sunrise picture, sort of
Heart 0 Comment 0
East Hills Inns & Suites
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
breakfast
Heart 1 Comment 0
more breakfast
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
George
Heart 2 Comment 0
Valentino's
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
too much!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Stewart County Courthouse
Heart 0 Comment 0
a better picture of the movie theater
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
the world's largest time capsule
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
No Parking on July 4th!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Larry MitchellSeward, Nebraska with a sign pointing towards Seward, Alaska … passed that very sign in 1999 while heading east on a cross country tour. Unfortunately, that part of the tour ended 2 days later as the heat became unbearable and the 5th day of above 100 degree temperatures with high humidity finally got me. Believe I stayed in that same hotel. Enjoying the trip …
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Larry MitchellLarry,
I can relate to heat and humidity - they're having some here now, though not as bad as you were experiencing. Sorry to hear that ended your tour. Were you able to get back to it another year?
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Larry MitchellWe did in 2001. So all was good the end. Since then we have finished cycling all 50 states so that hot spell didn’t stop us.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Larry MitchellLarry,
Glad to hear it!
A lot of folks with trailers and motorhomes wish they could say they've done all 50 states.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago