Day 11 - ending near Columbus, NE - Following the Ponca Trail - CycleBlaze

July 25, 2024

Day 11 - ending near Columbus, NE

Day 11 - Newman Grove, NE to Columbus, NE
Heart 0 Comment 0

The fellow across the highway with the engine was back at it at 5:20am. The sound was very loud for a few minutes, then it diminished. 

It was pleasant but foggy, now that I was up. Later when the fog lifted, it was hazy. I got the text for Day 9 done, and that entry posted, having uploaded the pictures the day before using the Neligh motel wifi.

I left at 10:01am for downtown for breakfast at City Cafe. I was handed a breakfast menu, even though the menu stated breakfast ends at 10:00am. Had my usual. When I went to pay the girl at the cash register asked the cook what "OH" on the ticket meant (overhard). I guess I wouldn't have known that either except I've seen waitresses write it down so many times as they've taken my order. I was able to get ice for my thermos, then went across the street to Shell Creek Market for Vitaminwater. I donated my change from that for Newman Grove's "Pool Dive". The checkout lady explained to me what that is (diving for pennies at the swimming pool). Next I rode a few blocks on east to City Hall to pay my camping fee. The clerk there said they're not set up to charge for tent camping, so my camping was free. I think full hook-up RV camping is just $10, so it's a deal either way. 

Today's destination is Loup Park Campground north of Columbus, Nebraska. Should be 37 miles, heading southeast, following Shell Creek. If I've counted right, I crossed Shell Creek ten times today. Trying to stay close to the creek had me on gravel roads most of the way, still, a lot of these roads have hills.

I was on my way out of town at 11:18am. I'd made it 3.3 miles by noon. I rode through Lindsay at 1:13pm. Left town going south a little ways on 445th Ave, then was back on gravel roads. I've had a frustrating time with all the extra loose gravel on some of these roads. This afternoon that loose gravel gave me a spill. I would have had a mouthful of gravel except for the bill of my helmet keeping my face off the road. I think I made out better with this crash, since the only injury was a scraped knuckle on my left hand. So there was a little time lost putting on a Band-Aid. My Neosporin has turned from a paste to a liquid, and was getting all over the place.

Back at it with turns south and turns east. Watched a crop duster plane for a while. Arrived in Platte Center at 6:22pm. South from there, then east to US-81. It was so nice to be on pavement, that I deviated from my plan and stayed on pavement to Loup Campground by taking 265th St.

I arrived at the campground at 7:45pm, and selected a site by outlet box #4. Camping is free here, even for RVs. I ate items from my lunch bag for supper. I had a nice cooling southeast breeze blowing on me today, but it seems to have died down now, and feels hot.

As happens on these trips, I start getting behind on journal postings, and that bothers me. I hadn't figured out what to do about the latest 'getting behind' when I went to bed. That can be a problem to figure out tomorrow.

Jeff

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Newman Grove
Heart 1 Comment 0
City Cafe
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Image not found :(
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
noon view
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lindsay
Heart 0 Comment 0
[May 26, 1877 - Shell Creek. 8 miles]
Heart 2 Comment 0
A divided gravel road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamA tumble in the soft gravel. Just I finished commenting yesterday about riding on this kind of surface. So glad you did not get hurt.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks. It only hurts when someone sees me do it ;-)
Jeff
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
[May 27, 1877 - Shell Creek. 8 miles]
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Platte Center
Heart 0 Comment 0
[May 28, 1877 - pass through slough]
Heart 0 Comment 0
Loup Power Canal
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 365 miles (587 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0