Day 0 - Morton, IL to Adair, IA (Driving) - Following the Ponca Trail - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2024

Day 0 - Morton, IL to Adair, IA (Driving)

Yesterday was my last day for packing, and there was a lot left to do. On other trips where I drove to the start for bicycling, I determined that packing the bike completely before loading it in the truck was helpful to make sure I had everything. So I did that this time also. And I had a deadline.

Our church was having a cookout/fishing contest nearby starting at 5:00pm, and I had been invited to attend even though I hadn't signed up. That gave me a goal to have the bike loaded so I could test-ride it to the event. I was late getting there, but not too late for a filling meal, fun conversations, and getting to see fish being caught.

This morning would have gone a little quicker if I hadn't packed away the phone cable I needed to make a final computer file transfer. Other than that, it was a simple job to unload the bike and get it and the gear in the truck.

That's everything.
Heart 3 Comment 0

With good-byes said, I was out of the driveway by 9:25am. I wasn't really on my way yet though, since I stopped at Aunt Ginny's Cafe in town for breakfast. I usually come at 6:30am on Sunday mornings, so wasn't surprised to see I needed to wait for a table, since the three seats at the counter were full. I always get the same thing, and it's usually served together. My bacon and eggs arrived, and I was told my pancake would be ready soon. I've never heard anything but "Order Up" from the kitchen staff, but this morning I heard "Jeff's Toast Cake Up". That made me smile - they know me pretty well! I received lots of good wishes as I left.

Aunt Ginny's Cafe - Morton, IL
Heart 1 Comment 0
breakfast
Heart 5 Comment 0

After a fill-up at the nearby gas station, I was finally on the road. It would be all expressway driving, on I-74 and I-80. I wasn't completely set on where I would end up this evening. Adair, Iowa has camping at their city park for $6 - but that's 82 miles away from Omaha's airport, where I plan to park my truck. A campground in Council Bluffs, Iowa charges $38. Originally I had planned on a motel in Omaha, but $6 verses a motel charge appeals to me.

I stopped for a fill-up at the Casey's in Grinnell, Iowa at 1:44pm. Driving was going well, but I was ready to be done with it for today, so Adair is where I ended up at 3:36pm. Last time I was here, the park was full, so I checked it out first. No one here today! That gave me time to look around town and to stop at Dairy Sweet for supper, which was a bacon cheeseburger, potato salad, and large cherry shake. The fun of listening to restaurant workers and customers has already begun!

Happy place :)
Heart 2 Comment 0
Adair, Iowa
Heart 2 Comment 0
Dairy Sweet - Adair, Iowa
Heart 0 Comment 0
"I'll have a bacon cheeseburger and potato salad."
Heart 1 Comment 0
" . . . Oh, and a large cherry shake."
Heart 1 Comment 0
supper
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was back at the park for good at 4:32pm and had the tent set up by 5:05pm. Time to write a report.

Adair City Park
Heart 2 Comment 0

It was hot today, but in the shade with the fair southwest wind it doesn't seem too bad, though that wind has pretty much died down now.

I can't end my first day report without thanking everyone for all the interest and the good wishes for my trip. It's overwhelming!

Jeff

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Nancy GrahamYAY, a Jeff tour to follow along with. Glad to see you back on the saddle on another journey Jeff. Safe travels to you.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Scott AndersonGreat to see you heading out again, Jeff. It looks like an inspired, inspiring journey ahead.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Thanks! The next post should have news of actually bicycling :)
Jeff
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen Jones:)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Scott AndersonScott,
Thanks! I hope this plan works out.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeanna & Kerry SmithSounds like a great first day. We're looking forward to following along.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeanna & Kerry SmithJeanna and Kerry,
It was a long, hot day, but everything worked out OK.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
3 months ago