Day 2 - LA to Upstate NY with my platypus - CycleBlaze

May 30, 2024

Day 2

Claremont CA to Apple Valley CA

Challenging day in regards to navigation and underestimating the climbs.  Even though I’m using paper and Google maps I still managed to end up on the most difficult climbing route.  As a result my day lasted 12hrs.  My host Anita had a great meal ready to go and I had a short visit since I needed to prepare for tomorrow and get some rest

Even the Platypus needed a break
Heart 10 Comment 1
Kerry HolmesAre you just finding strangers to take pictures of you and your pet?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
The only option was to jump on Route 15 to Victorville
Heart 3 Comment 2
John ChimahuskyHow busy was the traffic on I-15 going up to the summit? When I scoped out the area a few years ago when we were trying to decide which route to take across the country I remember the highway was wall to wall trucks in all the lanes all approaching warp speed.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeff DeLukeIt was by far the most challenging Dave cycle I’ve ever had in my life with the time spent on the road plus the climb and factoring in the interstate traffic although it really wasn’t a factor it was there and there was a very wide shoulder
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Surrounded by amazing natural scenery I still only had the energy to take a photo of the summit sign
Heart 4 Comment 8
Sheila DeLukeUmm-they spelled Cajun wrong-what’s the matter with those folks? lol
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kerry HolmesI am looking at the Google maps and it appears to have been a demanding journey. I hope you are consuming an adequate amount of protein.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Ric RasmussenGo Uncle Jeff!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rick CrawfordGreat job in the early ride. You’ll need practice with those elevation changes in the days ahead.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeff DeLukeTo Rick CrawfordFor sure, currently in Barstow had a marine base recovering in the pool it feels great
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeff DeLukeTo Ric RasmussenCurrently in Barstow, California spending the night at Marine base recovering in the pool. It feels awesome.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeff DeLukeTo Ric RasmussenCurrently in Barstow, California spending the night at Marine base recovering in the pool. It feels awesome.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeff DeLukeTo Kerry HolmesYou’re right super challenging ride. I’m in Barstow California at a marine logistics space recovering before my big ride tomorrow heading into the desert. The pool feels great.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 67 miles (108 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 8
John AndrewsJeff, it was great to meet you on Thursday morning and ride with you for a bit on Baseline Rd in Claremont. Here's wishing you safe travels on your journey! -John A., Upland, CA
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Dale BrockGood ride yesterday. Scenery looks nice. Be safe out there. Heres to another great day ahead.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Rachel MeleBe careful and stay hydrated. Can’t wait to hear more about your journey!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Ed ChimahuskyAny idea how many feet of climbing you did?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeff DeLukeTo Ed ChimahuskyNot sure I’m really not tracking to the level of detail that you guys did. I just know it was really really hard and long. I had an 11 hour day. I’m currently in Barstow California relaxing at a military facility. I think it’s Marine logistic base. I got a great chief billing room plus Soaking in the pool doing some stretches. It feels wonderful. I’m heading to Ludlow tomorrow
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeff DeLukeTo Dale BrockThanks I’m at a marine base in Barstow, California, I’m spending the night here and currently doing some stretches and lounging in the pool for recovery tomorrow I’m heading to Ludlow. It’s gonna be a very challenging day as I enter the desert.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeff DeLukeTo Rachel MeleThanks for the encouraging words Rachael tomorrow’s gonna be a tough day
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Jeff DeLukeTo John AndrewsIt was nice riding with you. I’m currently in Barstow California at a marine base. I’ll be spending the night here currently I’m soaking in the pool with my muscles recover as tomorrow will be a challenging day to Ludlow entering the high desert.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago