Day 9: The French Connection - Om Rides Milan to London - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2024

Day 9: The French Connection

Neuenberg am Rhein, DE to Strasbourg, FR

Today is a ride to Strasbourg where will take the first rest day (no riding allowed). The fatigue is setting in a little bit but also I’m a day ahead of schedule anyways and should do some more stay-put sightseeing. 

The city of Strasbourg believe it or not will be the biggest city I’ve been in since I left Milan, at about 220k population. To be fair I purposely avoid most cities until now. 

The ride today was very flat, through the French countryside right along a tributary of the Rhine. It mostly looked like this, interspersed with small towns.

Of course I was running low on groceries so I stopped in a couple boulangeries along the way for my pastry fixes. 

This is becoming more of a food blog than a bicycle journal but really captures the mindset right now
Heart 2 Comment 0

I also remembered/learned I can no longer simply ask for a “kaffee” as I did in German and have to say “café allongo”. I’m sure you’re wondering why I’m getting just a black coffee when I’m in Europe instead of one of the milky drinks they’re famous for - let me tell you why. 

One, I love dairy but it’s too heavy when I need to keep moving along. 

Two, I’m a corporate American drone and I’m conditioned to have my  cup of joe  and sip on it while I pontificate on what it means to make the computer go beep boop and provide shareholder value. 

I appreciated the espresso in Italy and Ticino though so will keep ordering that too though. That’s delicious.  

It’s just ingrained. I think I’d rather have a kaffee, a shot of espresso, or just skip the caffeine and ride the biking endorphins. Oops. 

The pastries of course I will sample everything I possibly can while I’m out here.

Now that the rant nobody asked for is over we can have more beautiful farm pictures.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Lunch was simply from my groceries bag - almost finished my Nutella I lugged around since Italy along with some fresh bread I had picked up. As we approached Strasbourg, the population started thickening and lots of cool architecture to peek at.

Boats boats boats
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Strasbourg, France
Heart 1 Comment 0
Strasbourg, France
Heart 2 Comment 0
Notre Dame Cathedral in Strasbourg
Heart 3 Comment 1
Karen PoretGreat shot !
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Palais Rohan in Strasbourg
Heart 2 Comment 0
Convenient hammocks in the old town
Heart 1 Comment 1
Karen PoretLooks like a “Christo”
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Notre Dame Cathedral
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Finally I checked into a hotel for nights two and three (in a row!) What luxury lately I am spoiled. This should let me recover a bit for leg two of the trip. 

I did a bad job of eating enough calories today as it was really just a bar, a pastry, and some bread/nutella from my bag. So I set off to find some vegetables and protein as the first order of business (after a shower of course)

Dinner was an onion tart and some saucy noodles. It was heavenly. The Alsace region is a fun blend of German and French cuisine. 

Of course also some macrons for deserve - perhaps the best chocolate macaron I’ve ever had in my life.

Onion tart
Heart 2 Comment 0
Noodles
Heart 1 Comment 0
Macarons to die for
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 102 km (63 miles)
Total: 749 km (465 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0