Day 8: Auf Wiedersehen, Switzerland - Om Rides Milan to London - CycleBlaze

July 21, 2024

Day 8: Auf Wiedersehen, Switzerland

Waldshut-Tiengen, DE to Neuenberg am Rhein, DE

Today marks the day we will pass along through Basel on the EV15 and turn our eyes, hearts, and tastebuds northwards to France and Germany. 

As the forecast suggested rain later in the day I set off as early as I could - it was already raining anyways. My tent held up pretty well but the soft pitter patter woke me up early at 0615. This is a way more peaceful way to wake up than an alarm so I actually really liked it.

I set off by 0730 after getting all my things squared away and my brain woken up. For breakfast I just had a choco-banana bar and set off on my way.

A week into the ride things have gotten real contemplative. I’m reflecting on life over the past year.

Life is on average a pretty good thing but it’s also good to pause and reflect. There’s infinite time to reflect on a slow easy paced bike ride.

It sounds like we’re really getting into the good bits of a long ride.

Here’s a few pictures of the ride today but not much to comment on really. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
More Rhine photos some parts of the river are much clearer others are milky or reedy
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Look at this majestic fellow
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was pretty. I mostly stayed on the French side but returned to the German side for a hotel stay as the forecast suggested heavy rain overnight.

I had schnitzel which was delicious. And I had spaetzle for the first time to round out the carbs I needed to recover.

Spaetzle was a nice new thing to try
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 101 km (63 miles)
Total: 647 km (402 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0