Day 25: Final Destination - London - Om Rides Milan to London - CycleBlaze

August 7, 2024

Day 25: Final Destination - London

Painters Forstal, UK to London, UK

The morning started at 830. No slugs or snails to report. Solid start to the day, really.

I continued along some rural roads and farm trails for the first 15 miles of the day.

Sustrans, the UK national biking advocacy group and custodian of the National Cycle Network (of which, I followed Route 1 a lot yesterday) does pretty solid work in general out in these less dense parts of Kent. 

Sittingbourne, Kent
Heart 2 Comment 0
Kent
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sustrans sign - they do good work for sure
Heart 2 Comment 0

This early part of the ride took me to Sittingbourne, where of course I bought cookies and cake which should fuel the rest of my day, for the most part, until I would eat a big dinner in London. I cannot wait to have my native South Asian food, with haste. Europe food - fantastic! But I miss spices.

As we approach London, much of the land is occupied by highways, so a lot of the cycle riding looked kind of like this. It was a bit boring, really, but thankful that at least there was a biking path alongside it rather than actually being routed onto the road. 

Riding along highways
Heart 1 Comment 0
C London is showing up for cars now! Must be getting close
Heart 2 Comment 0

To stave off the boredom, I of course ate way more cookies than any human should, and sang 99 bottles of beer on the wall to myself.

London started appearing on the signs for cars pretty early around noon, but not till much later in the afternoon for bikes. I did start seeing other 'signs' of London's approach though such as the iconic double decker buses. 

The double decker buses start to appear
Heart 1 Comment 0
An older church in Bexley, London
Heart 1 Comment 0

Around 1600 I had reached the London borough of Bexley, although this is Zone 6 London and not really what I meant when I said I was riding Milan to London - I still felt some internal pride that I "made it". Look ma, I made it.

Not to disparage Sustrans, who I am still thankful for, but this section of the UK (from the highway to about Zone 3 London) was likely the least nice bike infrastructure of the trip. There were some random times where biking trail would appear for 200 meters on the left side of the road then disappear and randomly show up on the right side of the road. To get there, you can't just cross several lanes but need to hop two curbs. Might as well just ride in the road then? I do have to remember however that most of my trip was on iconic routes along rivers or in extremely bike friendly Belgium/Switzerland. Navigating into and out of large cities always takes time, and London is an order of magnitude larger than Brussels.

The trail just ends here and resumes on the left side of the road. Why not just bike in the left lane then!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The routes were considerably nicer as I got into the inner zones of the city
Heart 1 Comment 0
Really beautiful biking through the parks and green spaces
Heart 2 Comment 0
It’s on the bike signs now too - final destination is close !
Heart 6 Comment 0

Despite these frustrations, the excitement was budding fast. I was proud to hit Zone 6, and as I got closer to Zone 1 I was giddy with joy. It's crazy that I biked all the way to London. I rode through Greenwich, where we get our timezones from, by Westminster, by Big Ben, Buckingham, and more.

Greenwich park, London
Heart 1 Comment 0
Greenwich park, London
Heart 1 Comment 0
Greenwich park
Heart 1 Comment 0
London
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
London Eye
Heart 1 Comment 0
Victory is sweet!
Heart 6 Comment 2
Rich FrasierCongratulations!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesYou did it! Good for you.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Buckingham palace
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

What a treat. My favorite was the beauty of riding through Hyde Park to get to my final accommodation in Paddington - a basement room in a shared flat, big enough to air out all of my travel belongings and even repackage my bike with plenty to spare.

After a shower, the first order of business was to walk down the street and grab some Pakistani food. Chicken jalfrezi, maybe not the most photogenic but absolutely incredibly delicious. And I had two whole servings of naan.

Heart 2 Comment 1
Mike AylingPlenty of Pakistani restaurants in England!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Chicken Jalfrezi
Heart 3 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesYummy. Spice is nice!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

The couple sitting next to me kept pointing out my tan lines and speaking in English (did they know they're in English speaking country?) saying they're glad they don't have tan lines. But these tan lines tell a story. That's the story you just read, from Day 1 in Milan to Day 25 in London.

Thanks for reading. There will be some post-ride entries when I get a chance to write them, mostly stats/learnings/what I may do differently next time. But I appreciate all who gave this journal a read and cannot wait for the next adventure. 




Today's ride: 95 km (59 miles)
Total: 1,895 km (1,177 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 9
Betsy EvansCongrats! Thanks for taking us along with you.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltEnjoyed following as always.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kathleen JonesAnother great one in the books. Thanks!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Karen PoretYou are an inspiration! Congratulations !
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Lyle McLeodIt’s been fun following along! Congrats on a great trip, and you saved the most daring part until the very end. Riding over Gotthard is a piece of cake compared to riding into central London (although it’s been over 30 years since I’ve done either of those 🙄!).
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rich FrasierLike everyone above, I want to say congratulations and tell you how fun it was to follow along on your adventure. Looking forward to the next one!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Mark M.Congratulations on finishing the adventure! And on dealing with two whole naan breads. No meam feat.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesWell done. A terrific ride with style and grace. Can hardly to wait for the next one.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Mike AylingThanks for a great journal
Reply to this comment
2 months ago