Day 20: Rest day in Brussels - Om Rides Milan to London - CycleBlaze

August 2, 2024

Day 20: Rest day in Brussels

Brussels, BE

First order of business is to wake up with the sun and go for a walk before the crowds. Often on rest days my modus operandi is walk a bunch and go look at stuff - you get to use different muscles and see the area a bit more in depth. I also usually plan for a nap in the afternoon because I know I’m going to need it and the point is to rest up.

Les Galeries Royales
Heart 2 Comment 0
Royal Quarter
Heart 3 Comment 0
A music hall
Heart 2 Comment 0
Parc de Bruxelles
Heart 1 Comment 0
Brussels, Belgium
Heart 2 Comment 0
Now I found that Brussels natives don’t put toppings on their waffles. But speculoos flavored ice cream is too hard to pass up so I did it anyways
Heart 1 Comment 0
I didn’t buy this but it’s neat to me to see south Asian snacks in the grocery stores. It’s a big immigrant population in Brussels
Heart 1 Comment 0

I spent some time people watching while enjoying a coffee as well.

By the end of the day I had seen all 3 pis statues (boy, girl, and dog). Hooray…

I also saw many parks and plazas in the old town part of the city - I didn’t spend too much time in the newer parts of the city.

Many pastries were consumed of course.

Belgian chocolates
Heart 1 Comment 0
Brussels, Belgium
Heart 1 Comment 0
Brussels, Belgium
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Finally I topped up my grocery goodie bag and had a wonderful traditional Belgian dinner of stoemp- this may have been one of the most flavorful meals I have had since the trip began. It was seriously good. Go to Fin de Siècle if you want to try it, it was a nice restaurant and not so expensive or overly packed / touristy.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Stoemp! - to me this beats the Heidelberg sausage meal and it wasn’t close. The flavors of the sauce permeate the mash and the sausage
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sport mode beer (no alcohol)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hanging out by the public pool again while the sun starts to go down
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0