Day 15: The Luxembourgish Countryside - Om Rides Milan to London - CycleBlaze

July 28, 2024

Day 15: The Luxembourgish Countryside

Saarlouis, DE to Hesperange, LU

Of course it only makes sense that the only two weather patterns are wet or hot. The following day was hot.

The tent held up well I woke up warm and dry without much complaints. It was a bit odd to pack away such a wet gear though but I tried my best to shake it out and hoped for the best. I was pretty slow getting ready as to add to my normal touring and camping chores I needed to relube the chain, patch up the bar tape, and reorient myself to the new dry, hot order.

Also a giant slug was hanging out on my tent that I had to muster the courage to knock away because I’m not scared of anything.

You don’t have to go home but you can’t stay here
Heart 3 Comment 0

After choring my way through the early morning I rolled off at 1000. Once again I found myself along the river Saar.

The day started with a short 30km jaunt through Germany and then dipping into France. 

Merzig, Germany
Heart 2 Comment 0

There were many beautiful things to see in both countrysides, which I’ve already learned multiple times over the past week. I also encountered many cows.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Fraternal twins
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sunflower fields always make me smile
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
There are SO MANY windmills here
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cows
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just a random castle in a random town, a normal day in Europe
Heart 1 Comment 0

Surviving post rain I was planning to treat myself to some delicious food but it’s Sunday so naturally everything was closed.

I instead snacked from my bag of goodies most of the day until I found a Turkish coffee bar open on the Luxembourgish border on the German side in a town called Perl.

I had two coffees. Caffeinated and still hardly having eaten real food I pursued onwards because that’s smart.

The second half of the day was through the hillier Luxembourgish countryside - equally beautiful. It was a bluebird day. 

Requisite border crossing selfie
Heart 4 Comment 0
Biking along the Mossel for just a km or two after the border
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Small town in Luxembourg
Heart 2 Comment 0


I stopped to recharge my navigation device in a cute town in Luxembourg and finally around 1600 I pitched my tent in a campsite in Hesperange.

Thanks for reading. 

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 1,170 km (727 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rich Frasier+1 for not being afraid of anything and vanquishing the giant slug!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago