Day 10: Rest day in Strasbourg - Om Rides Milan to London - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2024

Day 10: Rest day in Strasbourg

Strasbourg, FR

It was time to take a day off the bike. I hadn’t been riding or training as much as I probably should have in New York. In general my body has not been complaining much yet as I’ve been stretching and doing a very measured job of pacing myself.

But despite that and the folly of my youth it’s probably either time for a rest day (zero miles) or a very easy day. You gotta rest some time. I’m not always good at sticking to the latter and I wanted specifically to see Strasbourg. So here we are.

There are a lot less chores involved in hotel stays than camping (duh). I did take the opportunity to do laundry a more modern way than a ziploc bag.

The little gizmo in the right hand side connects the washers dryers and detergent dispenser. Neat. Kinda pricey tho, almost 2x my Brooklyn laundromat
Heart 0 Comment 0
Of course during the wash cycle I headed off for my second coffee of the morning.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I saw a few different sights in town. First up the old restored  medieval town La Petite France. There’s an old covered bridge there from the 13th century.

Inside the bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
The covered bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
View from atop the bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn’t really lunch and just kind of snacked my way through a couple cafes.

Some savory meat pastries
Heart 0 Comment 0
Too rich for my blood, but got through a few very delicious bites
Heart 0 Comment 0

The afternoon was more about seeing the cathedral and an old wine cellar built into the underground of the Strasbourg Hospital. The former is self explanatory but the latter was super unique - they felt wine was not only a social good but also had some healing powers and just generally positive vibing.

Heart 1 Comment 0
This bottle is a sample of the 1472 barrel of wine.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This barrel was a wedding gift in late 19th century. About 15.000 liters of wine fit in here.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Inside the cathedral. out of respect I didn’t want to take too many photos inside. I did spend a while just sitting and admiring all the painted glass work.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Finally, dinner and some relaxing.

Dinner was flammekuche, which a friend who has ridden parts of the Rhine before recommended me. From the Alsace region, this is their flatbread dish that is pretty similar to pizza (although I don’t think the locals would call it that). It doesn’t really have cheese or tomato sauce.

It was pretty good - mine was a more traditional bacon , onion, and mushroom combo.

Flammekuche from Flam’s in Strasbourg
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0