Day 1: Alora - Om Rides Milan to London - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2024

Day 1: Alora

Como, IT to Bellinzona, CH

After a very late night of dancing (in heels) I packed away all the formalwear that would be of no use to me and sent it home with my friend. 

It’s time to get started. I set off at a late 11 am after throwing back several espressos and a cornetto and headed up to Cernobbio where my route northwestward would start.

Ready to go!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Pretty shortly after, I crossed the border into Switzerland. Como is connected to the Italian-speaking Swiss Canton of Ticino.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

10-15 miles later and I already am loving the Swiss countryside and the assorted small towns. I made a quick stop for another espresso and to my unsurprise there’s a high card minimum. So of course I bought a sugary drink - upsold because it’s freddo and it’s hot out. By the time I drank it it was no longer freddo. The bartender was very sweet about it though and this was my first encounter with the language barrier. I know about 30 words in Italian, but I can piece together enough useful words and then supplant with single-phrase English and hope for the best. I google translate many signs I see now, which is fun. 

It was no longer freddo but it was tasty
Heart 2 Comment 0

On the pricing note, Switzerland is likely going to be expensive. I’m making a mental note to do more groceries. I opted not to bring real cooking equipment this trip and just eat cobbled together foods so I can enjoy a nice dinner most nights.

The route has some very convenient fountains along the roadside - I use these to refill regularly. 

I love that these exist at all. These are nice.
Heart 5 Comment 0

In Lugano I grabbed a bao at a lakeside stand (why bao? I was starving and it’s the first thing I saw). Lugano is the third biggest financial district of Switzerland. Who knew.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Giving back my elevation games but it was pretty though
Heart 2 Comment 0

I’d caught up with the eurovelo 5 which I believe I will be taking at least to the pass.

The first day was a bit of a warmup for what’s to come but man the heat and the elevation gain (of 2000 or so feet) was already a jolt! We don’t climb in New York City unless you count the subway stairs.

And alas I ended the day with a descent into the Ticino river valley giving back all that elevation I’d gained. 

Beautiful town though, but headed straight to make camp.

In Switzerland the camping sometimes even has WiFi and amenities like a cafe which I found amusing - we are quite literally in a historic town and it’s just right there in the middle. Loved it.

I made camp in a bit over a half hour. I’m still no expert and there’s probably plenty I’m not doing correctly still but this is record time. 

Heart 5 Comment 2
Ss RrThe tent looks good to me :) Just make sure the rain fly is tight enough that it isn't touching the tent if it rains. That way you're less likely to get wet!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Om KelkarTo Ss RrThanks for the tip! Have been incorporating it since.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

After dinner I slept for 10 hours like a baby and had a late start the next day - there was less miles but more in elevation to be encountered. 

Today's ride: 74 km (46 miles)
Total: 74 km (46 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0