But first... the non-biking vacation - Om Rides Milan to London - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2024 to July 13, 2024

But first... the non-biking vacation

Skip this entry if you only want to hear about bikes.

As I said I’m really here for a wedding - but I’m sure my friends are unsurprised that the wedding was an excuse for many guests made to make travel plans of their own.

I landed Thursday midday and collected all my luggage - a boxed bike and two panniers. Looking awkward as hell with a widely shaped cart and huge box, navigating some narrow airport doorways, some lady told me I was doing so well. Thanks!

I hailed a pretty expensive cab to Milan as MXP is quite far from the city and there’s unfortunately just no practical way to take this assortment of luggage on a bus or train. Unless I reassembled right there in the airport… but I decided to get some rest and freshen up first

Luckily the driver was also a fan of traveling in the Alps albeit by motorcycle. We had a fun time discussing the cobblestones I should expect to see in St Gotthard Pass and gave me some tips on what to do with just a single night in Milan.

Milan

I immediately set task to the important number one goal - eat good food.

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Rich FrasierYou’re off to a great start!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Then in my hotel after freshening up a bit more I decided it was time to reassemble the bike. As it’s my first time flying a bike I decided to also get it eyeballed at a local bike shop first thing the next morning.

Duomo
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

By evening my friend arrived so we went off to check out Duomo to take photos and eat more good food. 

The next morning with an a-okay from the shop we set off for the wedding 

Como

The wedding was to be by this very beautiful lake. From Milan we took the regional rail up to Como. The first night was a beautiful reception.

Soft launch… me and my bike
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Como
Heart 2 Comment 0

The second day was about exploring downtown Como, some markets, and getting some groceries for my biking trip. Finally, the evening was a fairytale celebration of the happy couple.  Congrats again!

Downtown Como
Heart 3 Comment 0
Downtown Como
Heart 1 Comment 0
The best piada I’ve ever had
Heart 5 Comment 0
Not usually one for milky drinks but when in Rome…
Heart 5 Comment 0
From the ferry to the wedding venue
Heart 3 Comment 0
Fairytale wedding is an understatement
Heart 7 Comment 0


Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0