Ebersberg to Gauting - A Ring around Munich - CycleBlaze

October 10, 2024

Ebersberg to Gauting

The weather forecast was discouraging, rain was predicted for the whole day, starting at around nine o'clock. The good news was that we were at the last station of the S-6 city train line which goes through Munich and on to Gauting. It's a ride of more than an hour with many stops and I would have to stand next to and hold my bike, but I thought more pleasant than riding many hours in the rain. 

Janos was feeling determined. He declared he was going to ride the 55  km home, regardless. He consulted the weather radar and figured he could avoid the worst of the downpour. I decided to aim for the 11:02 train, and if the rain let up by then maybe I would change my mind and join Janos.

Red sky in the morning
Heart 7 Comment 0

I still wasn't sure what I was going to do, but when we left at around 10:30 there was only a fine drizzle. I decided to ride. I really preferred to finish the tour on my bike. My intended strategy was to make frequent coffee or food stops to dry off and warm up. I expected the whole ride would be predominantly through built up areas south of Munich which would offer plenty of cafes or eateries.

It wasn't long before it began to pour, but we were too far from the train station now. I didn't want to turn back so I just I zippered up my rain jacket and pedaled. No more pictures for a while although the countryside was of rolling hills and harvested fields. I certainly would have wanted to snap a few shots if it had been dry enough to get my camera out. 

Eventually, the rain got lighter and was again just a light drizzle.

We are off and it' not pouring - yet.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I have my camera out again, maybe after an hour. Taking pictures because I can.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Soy bean blossoms I think.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltNice ID shot! Flowers are definitely some sort of legume, but leaves are not soy bean (3 leaved) so I searched and found it is likely fava bean.

https://www.wikidoc.org/index.php/Vicia_faba
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks, Bill!
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
We passed fields of sunflowers and soy beans.
Heart 2 Comment 1

By km 23 we were in Grasbrunn. I was chilled and looking for a place to stop. No luck so we carried on. It was near noon and I fancied an Italian restaurant and a dish of pasta. Entering the next town, Putzbrunn, first off we see a sign for San Daniele, an Italian restaurant. Bingo! Their lunch special was vegetable soup and a plate of farfalle in a zucchini cream sauce. Perfetto!

Nothing open in Grasbrunn
Heart 4 Comment 1
Karen PoretStill a very pretty setting and not raining at the moment!
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
After a warming meal, just 30 km more to go
Heart 6 Comment 0

I truly felt strengthened from the warmth and food, the rest of the day went faster than I expected. But my gloves and shoes were damp and I hadn't put on my warm jacket under my rain coat since I had only half expected to be riding home. I was chilled and then it finally occurred to me to put on my dry rain gloves (which I hadn't worn in the rain), my rain booties to shelter my feet from the wind (which I hadn't worn in the rain) and my puffy jacket. What a difference, I was finally warm.

In the beginning of the journal I said we would be riding roads that we had already ridden many times - but that turned out not to be the case. In Neubiberg our route took us on a 2 km long airstrip. Neither of us had ever seen or heard of the old military airfield in Neubiberg, now a landscape park with the runway down the center, also known as the "dog mile". The tarmac is popular with skaters and dog walkers alike. 

The next surprise was the Grünwalder/Perlacher Forst with its perfect paved paths. Yes, we had ridden in this forest before but not in this part of it and it and we had never appreciated it particularly. Today in the muted fall colors it was lovely. Finally we reach the Isar bike path which we do know well, and then the two-tiered bridge over the Isar at Grosshesselohe, the top level for trains and the lower level for bikes and pedestrians.

Turn and get ready for take off.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Pleasant riding even on a grey and damp day
Heart 12 Comment 0
Entering the Grünwalder/Perlacher Forst
Heart 3 Comment 0
Great bicycle paths in the forest
Heart 3 Comment 0
Familiar paths above the Isar
Heart 9 Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraI remember this path from our last day riding into Munich this summer.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Patrick O'HaraI love this path!
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Isar and fall foliage under dark clouds
Heart 8 Comment 1
Bridge over the Isar
Heart 3 Comment 0

We were almost home, just 11 km more, when Janos asked if we weren't supposed to be taking frequent breaks. Well, yes!  He spied a cafe for a celebratory coffee for him and again cake and tea for me. Then it was just the easy remaining kilometers back to our front door.

Carrot cake and green tea - I think I have had enough cake for a while. Time to taper off!
Heart 7 Comment 2
Kirsten KaarsooCakes, coffee and tea are all a very important part of our European bike tours.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Kirsten KaarsooI'll have to remember to include more in the future, especially in Germany where the Kaffee und Kuchen tradition is so strong.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Home again - and none the worse for wear
Heart 8 Comment 4
Susan CarpenterWelcome back home! So glad you found some nourishing food to warm you up and dry gear/ puffy jacket to keep you that way. Completing the circle by “conquering” the rain does offer a special sense of accomplishment.
Wonderful little tour, thanks.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Susan CarpenterIt was such a great way to finish the season, which had already included many fine tours.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Kirsten KaarsooTo Suzanne GibsonWhat a fun tour. You both look happy and cosy at the end. It must have been the cake that Janos suggested!:) I am sure if feels good that you cycled rather than take the train.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Kirsten KaarsooSurprising how fun a tour can be that isn't spectacular or exotic, just home fare can be so enjoyable.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago

We were both delighted with these five days on the road, probably our last tour of the season. Four of the five days we had perfect weather and in some perverse way we also "enjoyed" the rainy day. I'm glad I gave the train a miss and we could finish the ride together on our bikes.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 km (34 miles)
Total: 242 km (150 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 13
Comment on this entry Comment 14
Scott AndersonCongratulations! It’s too bad the weather turned on you at the end, but on the whole you had exceptional weather. Looks like a great week.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Nancy GrahamNice tour with mostly good weather for cycling. Glad you opted to ride home rather than the train. Your plan to stop lots to warm up and eat seemed solid to me. And… it worked. Welcome home.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Rich FrasierWhat a great idea to do a circuit from home. I’m inspired to try something similar down here next year. I loved the photos and the drone shots!
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Kathleen JonesWhat a nice way to end the cycling season. A great ride. So pretty too.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Karen PoretThank you for sharing it with all of us! Will miss your journals and photos until…next time! :)
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Scott AndersonThanks! Nothing sensational along the route but somehow a very satisfying tour.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Nancy GrahamStopping for refreshment is never a bad idea, right? Thanks for the coffeeneuring reminder. Otherwise I never would have treated myself to so much cake - except you don't have to eat cake with your beverage. My interpretation of the challenge!
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Rich FrasierThanks, Rich! Starting from home is such a relaxed approach to touring. Just getting on your bikes is so easy. We all know what train travel involves, and even a car requires a lot more logistics. There is something comfortable and cozy about touring in familiar terrain.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Kathleen JonesIt was kind of perfect, except that it was the last tour of the season.. I want more. Maybe two days with the warm Föhn blowing in January? I can dream, can't I?
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Karen PoretAnd thank you for your observant and interested comments! I need you as a proof reader! I look forward to riding and publishing again.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Mark BinghamThanks for sharing your trip with us. The photos (especially the last day) were amazing!
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Mark BinghamThank you so much, Mark!
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Gregory GarceauI've been in Washington visiting the in-laws all week so I've only been on Cycleblaze intermittently. I'm caught up with your journal now and I congratulate you on another fine one. I especially liked the "touring locally," aspect. I'm a big proponent.
Reply to this comment
6 days ago
Suzanne GibsonTo Gregory GarceauThanks, Greg! Yes, touring locally has many merits and I'm sure we are going to be doing more in the future.
Reply to this comment
6 days ago