Day 52 - All Cliff bars taste the same - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2024

Day 52 - All Cliff bars taste the same

I have tried nearly every flavor of Cliff bars and they all taste the same to me. Maybe I am just getting sick of eating Cliff bars on the road 

I rode 61 miles today and all but 6 miles had no houses and no electric poles. Once I hit route 125 I pedaled through national forest for 25 miles with all of it burnt due to wildfires. Thousands of trees still standing, all dead

Heart 1 Comment 0
These signs were everywhere
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cool rock outcropping
Heart 4 Comment 3
Elizabeth HendersonLook at you finding all the cool geology stuff!
Appears to be a dike - an igneous intrusion and the adjacent rocks were less resistant to the erosion than this rock.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltDike is correct!

https://blogs.agu.org/mountainbeltway/2015/07/29/positively-weathering-volcanic-dike-near-granby-colorado/
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Anne CoreyTo Elizabeth HendersonSee, right here is why we need to travel out west with you Beth! Inquiring minds want to know these things! 😍
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Assume this meant in the winter
Heart 1 Comment 0

A few days ago I crossed the Continental Divide from east to west over Hoosier Pass. Today I crossed it again from west to east at Willow Creek Pass. Won’t be the last time I cross it. At the bottom of this post you will see the elevation cross section of today’s ride. You can clearly see the climb up and over

Heart 3 Comment 0

Stopped in Rand, CO with a population of 50. They have a nice gift store where I got a cold drink. As you walk in they have this display 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Must be a touchy subject
Heart 5 Comment 0

After leaving the the national forest I rode into the Arapaho National Wildlife Refuge

24,000 acres in an intermountain glacial basin
Heart 2 Comment 0
My view as I rode through the refuge
Heart 4 Comment 0
What every weary biker wants to see at the end of the day
Heart 6 Comment 0
Homemade carrot cake for dessert
Heart 5 Comment 1
Anne CoreyOh wow! You need the calories… lucky!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 miles (98 km)
Total: 2,454 miles (3,949 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Kelly IniguezI've switched to Fig Newtons instead of bars. I think the store brand is just fine, and they are significantly cheaper.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Theresa GardnerColorado is a magnificent state! A hot springs resort could be a great night's rest?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Gordon BrownDave, this entry made me laugh out loud and dropped a few truisms. I'm in Canton, Ohio, taking my first day of rest after 7 days and 430 miles. Hope to be in Breckenridge in a couple of weeks. Congrats on getting over the divide. Keep on rollin'.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
David HendersonGordon
Good to hear from you. Sounds like you are making steady progress. Keep up the good work
Dave
Reply to this comment
2 months ago