Day 51 - My fenders - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2024

Day 51 - My fenders

As my friend Jeff says

“Wouldn’t be a grand adventure without any hiccups!“

  • May 28 - I broke the rear mount for my light while changing a flat. This meant I had to ride without a rear light. The mount is part of the rear fender 
  • May 29 - the bottom 7 inches of my front fender broke off. I now get heavy spray, mud, and grit on my feet, legs, chain rings, chain, and 2 water bottles in the lowest cages from the front tire while riding in the rain
  • May 31 - called REI and ordered a new set of fenders. Had them sent general delivery to the Newton, KS post office with arrival date on June 6
  • June 6 - arrived at the Newton, KS post office and no package. The post office said they would call me when it arrived and I rolled down the road
  • June 11 - Newton post office calls saying my package arrived, 5 days late! They asked me what post office I wanted it forwarded to. I had just entered Colorado and knew it would be many days before I arrived in Breckenridge. They forwarded the package to Breck
  • June 20 - arrived at the Breckenridge post off and ….. no package! Somehow it has taken more than 8 days for my fenders to get from Newton to Breckenridge. The Breck post office asked me where I wanted the package forwarded to once it arrived. Since USPS does not have a good track record I better be conservative. I told them to forward it to West Yellowstone, MT which is about 2 weeks down the road
  • June 20 - left Breckenridge headed to Silverthorne, my final destination for the day. In Dillon there is an REI so I swung in to pick up some Nuun tablets. I wandered into the bike area and on the shelf were the exact fenders I needed! They agreed to mount them for me
Todd, bike mechanic hero at REI
Heart 6 Comment 0

When the Breck post office calls I will tell them to ship the package back to REI and I will get a credit 

Followed the Blue River for miles
Heart 4 Comment 1
Steve ClarkThe peak of beauty and awe.
Wow. What a grand tour you are on.

“Sometimes The Light's All Shining On Me
Other Times I Can Barely See
Lately It Occurs To Me
What A Long Strange Trip It's Been”

Keep on Truckin’
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Route took me around the Green Mountain Reservoir. A beautiful section
Heart 4 Comment 0

The Green Mountain Reservoir is a result of the Blue River being dammed. Close to the dam, which I rode across, they channelize the water coming off the hills to prevent erosion 

Looking up the hill
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking down the hill. You can just make out a fishing boat on the lake
Heart 4 Comment 1
Steve ClarkHey, look at that…
It’s a flume!
😁
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Greeted with views like this while riding
Heart 3 Comment 1
Steve ClarkLiving the dream, David.
Living the dream.
I love that!!
How do you not just stop and stare?!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
A bridge over the road for cattle and wildlife
Heart 2 Comment 0
Can anyone tell me what this is?
Heart 1 Comment 3
Steve ClarkNo idea, except it may be a property boundary marker. From the top you can eye along the short fence and get a bearing on a line toward another intersection/corner.

“On this side is the Obeejugga Ranch, and over there is the 4 Bees ranch. Just follow this heading for 9.5 miles and you’ll come to the next corner of the MacCallister’s ranch.”

Maybe it’s like that.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Craig KruegerI've wondered myself and always forget to look it up when I get home. Thanks for reminding me, now I know too.

https://www.codot.gov/news/2013-news-releases/02-2013/new-phase-of-i-70-west-wildlife-fence-installation-underway

"these one-way escape ramps are soil ramps (with mesh material included for erosion control) that enable wildlife to escape the highway right of way. Ramps are built on the highway side of the fence, at a six-foot high “notch” in the fence, allowing wildlife to jump down to safety on the other side."
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
David HendersonTo Craig KruegerThanks for the information
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Road through a canyon just before Hot Sulphur Springs. Road, river, and railroad
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltWildlife one way highway escape ramp

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qXY-mSEcRTk
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
David HendersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks for the info
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Number 72 - Kremmling, CO
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 2,393 miles (3,851 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Keith AdamsWhen you get to West Yellowstone, I can recommend the Historic Madison Hotel if you don't have a set lodging plan already. Very hospitable and accommodating innkeepers. Best to book directly with them rather than through a third-party booking site if you need flexibility
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
David HendersonTo Keith AdamsThanks for the tip
Did you camp in the park?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Keith AdamsTo David HendersonYep. I believe all of the YNP campgrounds have unpublicized sites reserved for cyclists and backpackers. They're way less costly than the regular sites, but can't be reserved. On the other hand they can accommodate up to something like a dozen tents per site.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago