Day 50 - Hoosier pass - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

June 20, 2024

Day 50 - Hoosier pass

Left Fairplay at 6:30am to meet Colin in Alma where he spent the night

Historic courthouse and jail in Fairplay
Heart 3 Comment 0
Why would anyone want to go here?
Heart 2 Comment 1
Steve ClarkPerhaps it’s a warning.
Or, maybe it’s a sign for skeeters to read.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Highest incorporated town in the US
Heart 3 Comment 0
Every business must have a marketing angle
Heart 1 Comment 1
Steve ClarkHey, somebody’s got to have the highest high.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago


I approached going over Hoosier pass with a combination of fear and excitement. Left Alma for the long climb and made it!! Highest point on my trip at 11,539 feet above sea level and on the continental divide 

Heart 7 Comment 4
Steve ClarkCold? How chilly was it?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
David HendersonTo Steve ClarkI didn’t look but my guess is 40 degrees or a bit lower at the top. I could just see my breath
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Rich FrasierThat’s a big one! Congratulations!!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Anne CoreyCongratulations!!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Colin and I at the top
Heart 3 Comment 0

Dropped 2,000 feet to Breckenridge braking all the way. Was greeted by this view 

Heart 5 Comment 0
All that biking got me hungry
Heart 4 Comment 0


Still hungry so had dinner at one of my wife’s and my favorite restaurants, Sauce on the Blue in Silverthorne 

Shrimp Fra Diavolo, one of my favorites
Heart 4 Comment 0

I mentioned fear and excitement earlier. I leave you with these two tidbits

I will face my fear
I will permit it to pass over me and through me
And when it has gone past me I will turn to see it’s path
Where the fear has gone there will be nothing 
Only I will remain 

Frank Herbert, Dune

And the Colorado Rocky Mountain high
I’ve  seen it rainin' fire in the sky
The shadow from the starlight is softer than a lullaby
Rocky Mountain high, Colorado
Rocky Mountain high, Colorado

John Denver

Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 2,334 miles (3,756 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Steve ClarkWhat a great day!!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Theresa GardnerAwe Inspiring!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago