Day 48 - Guffey - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2024

Day 48 - Guffey

Took off from Canyon at 7am knowing I had some climbing ahead of me. I passed dozens of signs for Royal Gorge which has the highest suspension bridge in the US, a whopping 1,000 feet above the Arkansas river. I recall that my wife and I may have actually visited this bridge in 1986

Heart 2 Comment 1

My Garmin bike computer displays a bunch of different items as I ride. It also has a feature called ClimbPro. Any hill that meets certain criteria for distance and steepness will be categorized as a ClimbPro hill. As I approach one of theses hills the display on my Garmin changes. Below is the 2nd hill I hit today. Hills are rated according to gradient, this hill had a 5.3% average gradient 

Heart 3 Comment 0

Here is a primer on bike gradients

  • 0%: A flat road 
  • 1–3%: Slightly uphill but not too difficult 
  • 4–6%: A manageable gradient that can cause fatigue over long periods 
  • 7–9%: Can be uncomfortable for experienced riders and very challenging for new climbers

In western Virginia and Eastern Kentucky I was hitting a lot of hills with 7-9% gradients. Once I finished that 2nd hill today I found myself at 7,200 feet where the air is starting to get thin. Below is how my Garmin typically looks displaying current speed, average speed for that days ride, distance, time, calories burned, elevation, and time actually pedaling

Heart 3 Comment 1
Anne CoreyI wonder how long it would take to walk a bike up these hills? That would be me!😆
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

I did 5,650 feet of ascent today. Here was my last hill, not steep with a 3.5% gradient but it went on forever

Heart 2 Comment 0

I had lunch at the Mountain Aries market where Bob fixed me a great smoothie

Heart 2 Comment 0

I am staying in Guffey, CO tonight in a bunkhouse owned by Bill. Bill has been in Guffy since 1972 and hosted riders who did the first Transamerica ride in 1976. He has hosted riders ever since. I pulled up in front of Guffy’s garage, met Bill, and the first thing he asked me is if I wanted a cold beer.

Bill in front of Guffy’s garage
Heart 8 Comment 0

A few minutes later, Colin from the Netherlands rode up and we had ourselves a party.

Heart 4 Comment 1
Elizabeth HendersonLove the beer cozies!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago

Guffey is a bit of a ghost town which still a bunch of residents. The two pictures below along with the earlier photo of Guffey’s garage gives you a taste of what the center of town looks like

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Bill regaled us with stories about the towns past (gold mining and lumber) and the hundreds of bikers he has met over the years

Some of the scenery along the way
Heart 3 Comment 0

Here is the bunkhouse where Colin and I are staying tonight. It was built in 1880 and is where miners brought their gold to have it weighed and get paid

Heart 9 Comment 0
Fantastic key lime pie from Colorado Mountain Distillers restaurant
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 32 miles (51 km)
Total: 2,247 miles (3,616 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Steve ClarkImpressive riding. The gradient AND the elevation can turn legs to wet noodles. The grit to keep cranking the pedals, pressing your feet into them when everything in your body (including your brain) screams for 30 seconds on the side of the road…
That’s impressive stuff Mr. Henderson.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Theresa GardnerAmazing Dave!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago