Day 36 - New friends and Errands - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2024

Day 36 - New friends and Errands

Last night I camped at Harvey County Park East. The campground hosts, Jerry and Jaime invited me over for a beer.

Jerry spent 22 years in the Marines and now works for the county doing maintenance and construction projects for the 3 parks close to Newton, Kansas. He is a big WWII buff so we talked at length about the series Band of Brothers, Pacific, and Masters of the Air. Him and his wife had lots of interesting stories about Kansas history. Before heading back to my site, after some Hamm beers, Jerry gave me his number and said if I had any problems in Kansas to give him a call

I am spending the night in a hotel in Newton. I needed to get some laundry done, grocery shopping, and minor bike maintenance. I went to lunch and met another delightful couple, Tim and Colleen who lived in the area. We met in line while ordering pizzas and shared a table. Tim is a huge railroad buff and can recite the history of most famous train lines in the country. He was quite familiar with the Lehigh Valley railroad in my part of the country 

Tim and Colleen
Heart 2 Comment 0

Short day today, lots of odds and ends to take care of in Newton

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 7 miles (11 km)
Total: 1,717 miles (2,763 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0