Day 35 - Turn the Page - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2024

Day 35 - Turn the Page

I rode 68 miles today from Eureka to a county park about 8 miles outside Newton. The entire way there was not a single hotel, restaurant, convenience store or grocery store. I knew this ahead of time so packed extra food and water 

I knew those straps would come in handy
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cropland gave way to range land. I saw hundreds of beef cattle
Heart 1 Comment 0
Glad this was not my route
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jerry and Jamie who are campground hosts. They invited me over for a beer later tonight
Heart 1 Comment 0

I leave you with this, a nod to Bob Seeger

On a long and lonesome highway, east of Wichita
You can listen to the drive train, moanin' out its one note song
You can think about the woman, waiting for you at home
But your thoughts will soon be wanderin' the way they always do
When you're ridin' endless hours and there's nothin' there to do
And you really feel like ridin', relief from your ass ache is really overdue

Oh, here I am
On the road again
There I am
In the saddle, yeah
Here I go
Playin' biker again
There I go
Turn the page

Out there on the bike seat you're a million miles away
Every ounce of energy you have to give away
As the sweat pours out your body like the miles that you make
Later in the evening as you lie awake in bed
With the echoes from the big rigs ringin' in your head
You drank the day's last water, rememberin' your not dead

Oh, here I am
On the road again
There I am
In the saddle, yeah
Here I go
Playin' biker again
There I go
Turn the page

Heart 1 Comment 0


Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 1,710 miles (2,752 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 3
George HallYikes - the store in Cassoday being closed is a real bummer! When I rode this section in 2015 that store was the only food stop, it would have been tough without it. Good thing you knew ahead of time that it was closed.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Steve ClarkNice tip of the cap to Mr. Seger. I feel ya, bro, and that’s why this is the adventure of a lifetime. You are living a dream.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Theresa GardnerGreat lyrics Dave! lol
Reply to this comment
2 months ago