Day 29 - Dirt roads - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

May 30, 2024

Day 29 - Dirt roads

Stayed at the Hampton Inn in Clinton, MO last night. This morning over breakfast met this group of bikers ready to tackle the Katy trail. They have gotten together every year for a decade to ride just like the Easy Riders another great group of bikers I have ridden with

Heart 5 Comment 1
Mark NovakI resemble that remark!
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

Left Clinton, MO headed to a very rural cabin I booked. Went through Deepwater, MO following route Google maps picked out and found myself on a rough dirt road for a mile

Heart 1 Comment 0

After looking more carefully at my route I made a few adjustments trying to avoid dirt roads. Anyone who has traveled a bit in the US, especially west of the Mississippi River, knows a lot of back road names are just letters like A, B, etc. I got on road WW in rural Missouri heading south. The road was paved and I went 7 miles before encountering the sign below. I was committed at that point so 5 more miles on dirt roads 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Along the way I did encounter some Amish
Heart 5 Comment 0
For lunch had some outstanding street tacos with homemade guacamole and hot sauce from a restaurant in Osceola
Heart 7 Comment 0
Number 49 - Deepwater, MO
Heart 1 Comment 0
Number 50 - Lowry City, MO
Heart 1 Comment 0
Number 51 - Osceola, MO
Heart 1 Comment 0

Several times I have seen signs warning that the road ahead might flood due to heavy rain. First time I saw a flood gauge posted on the road

Could I bike through 1-3 feet of standing water?
Heart 2 Comment 1
Keith AdamsNO. HELL no. Don't even think about it, cowboy.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

I am staying in a cabin along the Sac River which is part of the Osage River watershed. The Osage is dammed and forms the massive Lake of the Ozarks. Much of the TV series Ozark was filmed in and around that lake

Sac river
Heart 6 Comment 0
Met Mark and his son Mike fishing
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 1,442 miles (2,321 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0