Day 28 - Cycles & Cream - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2024

Day 28 - Cycles & Cream

If you are of a certain age you will remember that every train use to have a caboose car that was manned. I can recall as a kid waving to the guy in the caboose as the train rolled through town

Caboose from the Katy line
Heart 5 Comment 1
Steve ClarkWas that train you saw as a kid a steam locomotive? Did they even have diesel engines yet?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

Every trailhead on the Katy had this setup. Great information, bathrooms, water and shade. This was the western terminus hence the small bell that I rung. The Katy is 238 miles long and I did all of it except the last 13 miles at the far eastern end.

Heart 4 Comment 0

Drainage system in Clinton, MO. Looks like something out of the Stephen King book IT
Heart 4 Comment 0

Yesterday I had my first flat tire which I changed on the side of the road. Today the end portion of my front fender broke off, swung around on its wire mounts and dug itself into my tire bringing me to a stop in seconds. I was not hurt but my fender will never be the same 

The piece on the ground broke off from the fender which is just to the right of the water bottle
Heart 3 Comment 0

I rolled into Clinton and my first stop was Cycles & Cream, a combination bike shop and creamery. Ben and his wife have a great establishment. My bike needed several tweaks and I had a dish of Tillamook ice cream. Livin’ Large

Heart 5 Comment 0
Two scoops - chocolate peanut butter and coffee almond fudge
Heart 6 Comment 0
Number 48 - Clinton, MO
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 1,388 miles (2,234 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keith AdamsKudos to you for sticking with the Katy all the way to Clinton- that's several more days that I could stand it.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
David HendersonTo Keith AdamsIt is a bit monotonous but quiet and no cars. In my case I had little choice since my plan was to head south from Clinton to re-intersect the Transamerica
Reply to this comment
3 months ago